1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Seminary vs. Baptist School for Masters?

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by scubablt, Nov 25, 2004.

1. scubablt

scubablt New Member

Here is a "Academic/Education" oriented question for discussion:

As a pastor, I have recently counseled three young people about their call to ministry and the call to adequately prepare for that calling. The discussions also included "what school should the attend to earn a Master's Degree?" That led to some interesting questions I wanted to pose to the Baptist Board.

First, let me say I believe firmly that a call to serve God is also a call to prepare, and I believe these future ministers should attend and graduate from college. I also believe that a Master's Degree in an appropriate area is necessary, to effectively prepare. Of course, many might disagree with my belief about getting a Bachelor's Degree and/or Master's Degree, but here is the question I would like to discuss now in this forum:

"If indeed a person makes the decision to go to Grad School and get a Master's Degree in a Christian field, should they: (a) go to an accredited "SEMINARY" for that Master's Degree, or (b) is it just as good to attend any accredited Christian University and get a Master's Degree there, or (c) would it be OK to simply attend any accredited state school and get a Master's Degree in a field like Education, Sociology, History, etc?