1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Some colour photo's made during WW1.

Discussion in 'History Forum' started by mioque, Feb 27, 2005.

1. NaasPreacher (C4K)

NaasPreacher (C4K) Well-Known Member

I though the world was in B&W in WW1 [​IMG] .

2. rsr

rsr <b> 7,000 posts club</b>

Faith:
    Baptist
    You've been reading Calvin and Hobbes, huh?

Cool pictures.

3. Phillip

Phillip <b>Moderator</b>

Those are interesting pictures. I studied photography in college and developed many strips of negative and printed many a print. It is a LOT of fun if you haven't had the chance to try this.

Do it in black and white. Actually the most powerful photos can be made in black and white - color tends to get in the way of art. Look at Ansel Adams.

By the way, black and white is made by exposing a silver compound to light and the black portion is where metallic silver remains on either the film or the negative (it is reversed--the reason for the negative first, then reversing it again to make a print). The silver is finely powered and turns black where the dark parts of the picture are. The white, is where the silver did not come out of the solution and is washed away in a chemical called the "Fix" bath.

Does anybody know how normal color photography works? (Its really quite easy.)

4. mioque

mioque New Member

"I though the world was in B&W in WW1"
    "
    It was, unless you belonged to a select group of French or Russian photographers.

There was an english inventor who also had invented a procedé for making colour photographs, but he apparently preferred to use it for taking pictures of naked 'ladies'.
    One would expect such a choiche of the French inventors instead. ;)

5. blackbird

blackbird Active Member