1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Starting at LRU This Summer

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by eddie, May 17, 2007.

1. eddie

eddie New Member

Hello All,

I completed my Master of Arts in Biblical Studies (45 hrs.) at Beacon University (TRACS accredited) a couple of weeks ago. :godisgood:
    I have just enrolled in the M.Div program at Luther Rice. LRU has given me 51 transfer hours from my graduate work at Southern Christian U. and Beacon U. I've registered for 9 hrs. Summer classes start May 21.

I enjoyed attending Beacon. Dr. Durden, my favorite professor, received his PhD from Mid-America Baptist Seminary (Mid-America must be a great school!). However, I decided to leave Beacon because they do not offer much in the way of biblical language classes.

Beacon's president announced that they plan to apply for SACS accreditation at some point, but he gave no indication of when that'll happen. Personally, I think they have a long way to go before they'll be ready for SACS. Even their web site needs a lot of work http://www.beacon.edu.

I strongly considered Liberty, but I want to take biblical language classes. LRU offers their Greek and Hebrew classes online, Liberty does not. Also, LRU is less expensive.

I'm really excited about attending LRU. Do any of you LRU students/alumni have any words of wisdom for me?

Thanks,

Eddie

2. StefanM

StefanM Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I wish you the best. I just started through Liberty, though I did consider LRU.

Since I already have taken Greek and Hebrew courses for my undergraduate ministry degree, I didn't have quite the same needs. Since Liberty is SACS-accredited, that sealed the deal for me.

3. GARick