1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Substance Abuse Clients

Discussion in 'Health and Wellness' started by SaggyWoman, Apr 21, 2011.

?
  1. Yes, I work (for pay) with Substance Abuse clients.

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Yes, I work (as a volunteer) with Substance abuse clients.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Other

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. SaggyWoman

SaggyWoman Active Member

Do you work with Substance Abuse clients?

2. padredurand

padredurand Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I worked in the industry for three years. With hundreds of clients under my belt I can say with conviction the majority of clients do not want sobriety. I would have to say I had less than 10 clients that really wanted to get away from the drug and alcohol mess. The majority wanted to keep their probation/parole officer happy or try to avoid going to jail.

Client: But I love my kids.

padre: Then why did you spend their grocery money on crack?

client: I was under a lot of stress.

padre: Now your kids are eating at the soup kitchen and your PO wants to violate you. How's your stress level now?

client: That PO is always after me.
    Any of the industry "best practices" are flawed. The underlying premise is to get the abuser to change their way of thinking about substances. A mind changed can be changed again. The only way out of the revolving drama of substance abuse is a change of heart. Only One :jesus:can change a heart. Jesus is dealt with as one option of many under the guise of spirituality.

3. Gina B

Gina B Active Member

No, but I've had to do research and write stories about substance abuse programs.