1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Teaching Religion

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Martin, Oct 10, 2008.

1. Martin

Martin Active Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    As some of you know I am a history instructor at a community college here in North Carolina. You may also know that I also have a MA in Religion from Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary. As such, my department chair (ie...boss) is interested in having me teach a religion course next semester. This has been mentioned before but it has never panned out. They usually end up adding history classes to my schedule and taking away the religion. I don't know what religion course I might be asked to teach. I would happily teach Old Testament Introduction, New Testament Introduction, or Religion In America. However I am not sure how I would approach World Religions. Anyone who knows me, or has kept up with my blog and posts here, knows that I am not one to be tolerant when it comes to different religions. I strongly believe that there is only one way to the Father, one way to be saved, and that is through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ (Jn 14:6, Acts 4:12). I am struggling with how to teach World Religions if that is indeed what I am asked to teach. I think I would just say "these are the historical facts about (name of religion)" and give the basic historical issues. That is the way I deal with the rise of Islam when I teach Western Civilization I. However that would be much more of a history class than a religion class. It would also get rather boring for the students (not to mention me). I would like to make it interesting (as I do my history courses).

Any advice?

2. StefanM

StefanM Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith: