1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

The end for which Christ came in the world

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by ReformedBaptist, Aug 19, 2007.

1. ReformedBaptist

ReformedBaptist Well-Known Member

Dear brethren,

While there has been controversy on these boards regarding particular doctrines, I thought it good to positively assert an area of doctrine without the view of necessarily entering a controversy. I also have somewhat a personal interest as I am studying these things and it is helpful to me to put them down in writing. May the Lord be pleased to encourage your heart by the following Scriptures and brief comments, for nothing else is intended than the edification of God's people and the manifestation of His glory.

It may seem quite a basic doctrine to teach as to why Christ came into the world. We can answer this in cheifly two general points. 1. The purpose the Father and Christ intended. 2. That which was accomplished and fulfilled by it.

1. The purpose of the Father and Christ in Christ coming into the world.

Matt 18:11; Luke 19:10 "The Son of Man is come to save that which was lost." The purpose of God the Father and Son of His coming into to the world was to save sinners. 1 Timothy 1:15 "This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners."

Who are these sinners? Christ Himself tells us. Matt 20:28 "Even as the Son of man came not to be ministered unto, but to minister, and to give his life a ransom for many." In other places the many are called us or believers. Gal 1:4 "Who gave himself for our sins, that he might deliver us from this present evil world, according to the will of God and our Father"