1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Titanic theology

Discussion in 'Other Christian Denominations' started by billwald, Jun 21, 2007.

1. billwald

billwald New Member

From another thread:

>Climate change ? I thought the church's job was to proclaim Christ, and him crucified.

This is my major objection to Dispensational theology - the unintended consequences. Sin has to multiply before Jesus can return. The environment must degenerate before Jesus can return thus no point to making the world a better place for the grandchildren because we will get raptured in the next year or so and everyone else will go to Hell. No point to polishing brass on the Titanic. We must fill the lifeboats.

Problem is I've been hearing this for 60 years and "believed" that we would get Raptured within 40 years of 1947. That year has come and gone and I got "Reformed" in 1988.

2. SBCPreacher

SBCPreacher Active Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I don't know that sin HAS TO multiply before Christ returns as some kind of requirement, but just look around. It is multiplying. And we're still looking for Christ to return.

As far as only filling the lifeboats, I don't believe that's what we're supposed to do. We're supposed to serve Christ until He comes for us (either all at one time or one at a time). That's what I'm planning to do.

3. J. Jump

J. Jump New Member

Well Scripture says that His "return" will be during a time akin to the time of Noah and Lot's day. So if it is going to be that bad when He actually returns it seems at least logically that it would be on the upswing when the "rapture" occurs.

I guess as a dispensationalist I am unaware of this objection.