1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Update on Vista upgrade

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology Forum' started by exscentric, Dec 17, 2007.

  1. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    Just thought I'd update anyone or no one that is/isn't interested :laugh:

    Actually I have been fighting problems daily with the upgrade. Vista did some strange things. I found yesterday that something emptied my Front page directory of ALL of its files. It did reinstall okay.

    MS Streets icon would go blank every day or two then yesterday it wouldn't open. I've tried every thing I can think of to get it to reinstall but no luck. Keeps telling me the registry settings weren't copied properly.

    I lost the tv card - Hauphauge hasn't updated the program for it to run.

    Lost Quicken because Intuit won't update a program I've owned less than three years. Due to this Pocket quicken is worthless. I've found that Quicken has programmed in some automatic sunsetting of features on older versions, hard to tell what they have done on newer versions.

    Tried to install MS Money, went okay but it isn't compatible with my pocket Money, nor is the upgrade for pocket money on MS website.

    All sorts of little fluky problems. This morning a "This installation is not genuine" message on my screen that wouldn't go away so had to call them - revalidate. The system is way to bloated me thinks, but then what does a dumb irritated user know :thumbs:

    All in all I like the system, but hate the hours and hours of time I've wasted getting things to run.

    Personally am trying to get a Linux version working on a puter in the garage - was supposed to run windows programs but that hasn't happened yet either. Apple would sell a ton of units if they would put a unit or two out in a windows rigs price range. :thumbs:

    Have done a ton of googling on different problems and the net is full of people having problems with Vista. :tear:

    It is actually working this afternoon, may actually get some work done :)
     
  2. rbell

    rbell Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    11,103
    Ratings:
    +0
    Windows vista: proof that Microsoft has perfected the "digital latrine."
     
  3. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    :laugh: 12345678910 there is my ten characters to make my message longer :thumbs:
     
  4. rbell

    rbell Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    11,103
    Ratings:
    +0
    My favorite bit of vista madness:

    You sell a computer with a DVD player...ostensibly, to play DVD's. Then, you sell a joke of an operating system...for fun, let's call it "Vista basic." Vista basic has no DVD decoder (nothing like an OS with deliberately messed-up code so you'll have a "budget level" product).

    And that brings you to this idiocy:

    YOU HAVE A DVD PLAYER ON YOUR COMPUTER, BUT NO WAY TO PLAY DVD'S! :mad: :BangHead:

    Someone give Bill Gates a wedgie for me....
     
  5. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    If I were a conspiracy buff I'd have one to chew on with Vista. I ran across several software/hardware companies taht are sunsetting their older software which seems to be following MSs own policy recently. The reason is that they don't want to update the stuff to Vista, but it just happens to make people - if they can afford it - to upgrade hardware and software that is perfectly good stuff.

    Most of the tons of stuff I have would do me the rest of my life because it all works just fine to do what I want to do, but to use Vista I'd have to spend a fortune which I am not going to do.

    There are a lot of people upset with the way things are going - trust the backlash wakes someone up around the software circles.
     
  6. Magnetic Poles

    Magnetic Poles New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,407
    Ratings:
    +0
    This free player will fix you right up. Plays everything you can throw at it, including DVDs.
    http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
     
  7. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    Haven't given it much use yet, but downloaded it awhile back from opensource.com. Dropped Outlook since 2002 doesn't work all that well in Vista - surprise - and went to Thunderbird and love it.

    Outlook works but you have to type in your password evertime Outlook opens. The password is saved in a directory that Vista doesn't look in I've read. There is a registry fix for it but I don't like messing with the registry if I don't have to.

    I've been working with Open Office some as well and soon will dump Word before long.
     
  8. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. ccrobinson

    ccrobinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,459
    Ratings:
    +0
    :laugh:

    That's a great article!
     
  10. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    Well personally I don't think that article is really fair. He should have had some other views included, I am certain more people contributing could have added a lot more sarcasim and justice to the foolishness of the old system Vista :laugh:

    I've read a lot about the static on the net, but we are fortunate not to have good graphics so we just get the lights turned out on ours every time we boot or log on.

    If I didn't have to redo my drive I would probably upgrade to xp myself. I have over 200 gig of stuff on my drive and some of it is a pain to put back on. If I do decide to I figure I'll stick in a new drive and stick windows on it then copy everything over night and then reinstall the programs over the top to get them registered, that way won't have to sit and change cds all night :thumbs:

    I do like the way Vista goes out and finds wierd drivers for my old equipment but XP was functioning on the old stuff quite well so I wouldn't miss that much. Humm I'd better shut up or I'll be redoing things tonight:tonofbricks:
     
  11. Magnetic Poles

    Magnetic Poles New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,407
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. standingfirminChrist

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,454
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now that was a quick install. LOL
     
  13. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    Just hope the guy doesn't need to reintsall sometime in the future :laugh:
     
  14. PJ

    PJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Ratings:
    +0
    Faith:
    Baptist
    I think someone was sleeping on the job the day that decision was made!

    I have the same problem. I'm gonna give this a try http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
    Thanks Magnetic Poles! :wavey:
     
    #14 PJ, Jun 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2009
  15. Magnetic Poles

    Magnetic Poles New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,407
    Ratings:
    +0
    PJ, what you need is a codec. CLICK HERE for a link to a list from Google.
     
  16. PJ

    PJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Ratings:
    +0
    Faith:
    Baptist
    Oh my goodness; are all these links offering the same thing? I'm pretty illiterate when it comes to these things, MP. Yikes!!!!
     
  17. PJ

    PJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Ratings:
    +0
    Faith:
    Baptist
    Okay, I've downloaded 4 decoders from this list. Unfortunately, neither of them fixed the problem. :(

    Here's the message when inserting a DVD into the laptop: "Module(s) for this application is(are) missing. If restarting the application does not fix the problem, please reinstall the application."

    I'm really struggling with this, so if any of you know which one I should choose for a Toshiba Satellite L305-S5915, please feel free to jump in.

    Thanks! :wavey:
     
    #17 PJ, Jun 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2009
  18. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Ratings:
    +0
  19. PJ

    PJ Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Ratings:
    +0
    Faith:
    Baptist
    Hi Trotter,
    I'm gonna give it a try later today. THANKS so much!!!!!!!!!! :wavey:
     
  20. Magnetic Poles

    Magnetic Poles New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,407
    Ratings:
    +0
    PJ, you can also try VLC Player at http://www.videolan.org/vlc/. It is a player with it's own codecs, and plays anything you can throw at it. Best of all, it's free.
     
Loading...