1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Water vs Holy Spirit Baptism

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by On the side of truth, Jan 28, 2006.

1. On the side of truth

I am a newbie to the BB though I have browsed many topics in here lately. This is my question to those of you who are spiritual and have a sincere desire to share truth. Here it goes The church we attend believes that the "one baptism" spoken of in Ephesians 4 refers only to water baptism and that is the only baptism needed for today. They also teach that Romans 6:3-4 is also speaking of water baptism. I am not looking for folks in this forum to say what they think which is right but I am looking for solid Bible verses to back up what they believe. Emphasis on Scripture. I have enjoyed reading the thoughts of many of you and have learned a lot on here and I hope that this continues. [/LIST] [​IMG]

2. donnA

donnA Active Member

I'm not really clear on what your question is.

3. genesis12

genesis12 Member

John 3:16-17, John 14:6, Romans 10:8-13. Context is everything. The New Testament is a context. One examines the Truth of any position taken by comparing scripture to scripture throughout the New Testament.

4. bapmom

bapmom New Member

The literal water baptism is a picture of what happens to us spiritually upon salvation. What "other" baptism are you wondering about?

5. On the side of truth

The question is whether or not there is only one baptism for us today and if that baptism is water baptism. I always thought that there was Holy Spirit baptism at the point of salvation. Am I wrong? Could you please post scripture references with your perception of this doctrine? Thanks... [​IMG]

6. donnA

donnA Active Member