1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

What does your bible say? Take II

Discussion in '2005 Archive' started by Deacon, Jan 25, 2005.

1. Deacon

Deacon Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I'm studying about the tragic life of Michal this week and stumbled into an interesting textual problem that parallels a topic we had about Goliath a while back.

WHAT DOES YOUR BIBLE SAY?

The books of Samuel have quite a few textual difficulties.

In 2 Samuel 19:8, older versions, including the KJV read:

2 Samuel 21:8 But the king took the two sons of Rizpah the daughter of Aiah, whom she bare unto Saul, Armoni and Mephibosheth; and the five sons of Michal the daughter of Saul, whom she brought up for Adriel the son of Barzillai the Meholathite: KJV

Many modern versions differ:

2 Samuel 21:8 So the king took the two sons of Rizpah the daughter of Aiah, Armoni and Mephibosheth whom she had borne to Saul, and the five sons of Merab the daughter of Saul, whom she had borne to Adriel the son of Barzillai the Meholathite. NAS 95
    (bolding added)

Now Saul had two daughters, Michal and Merab.

Mirab was married to Adriel (1 Sam 18:19).

Both the LXX and the MT use Michal's name.

This one seems like a no brainer to me but when is it proper to correct the text?

Rob

2. Bluefalcon

Bluefalcon Member