1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

What does your pastor do about people who sleep in church?

Discussion in '2005 Archive' started by csmith, Mar 7, 2005.

1. csmith

csmith New Member

I remember as a child I had a pastor that would bang on the pulpit as loud as he could. Now, as a pastor myself, I look out across the auditorium and understand what he was TRULY doing. It is amazing to me how fast people can fall asleep in church. I know everyone gets tired sometimes, but there are a few people in my church that are asleep just as soon as the offering is over. It makes me laugh in a way, but on the other hand, it is a bit irritating when you have prepared to deliver what God has given you and some folks could care less. [​IMG]

2. dh1948

dh1948 Member
    Site Supporter

I stop in the middle of the sermon and call on them to pray!

3. dh1948

dh1948 Member
    Site Supporter

Just kidding in previous post! [​IMG]

4. Servent

Servent Member

Our pastor is always slapping his hands together for one reason or another it makes it hard for those who do sleep to do so. He dosent use a pulpit.

5. TaterTot

TaterTot Guest

I think they must be in every church. One lady here sleeps EVERY Sunday (and she is our 89 year old pianist). We have had to wake her up to go play the invitation hymn. And it really irks when she says, "PAstor, that was the best sermon you've preached in a while!"

6. Bro. James Reed

Bro. James Reed New Member

My former pastor put it very nicely.

People go to sleep, or become tired, when they are comfortable and relaxed. It very well could be that you're preaching is soothing and relaxing to them, and they have difficulty fighting through that comfort to stay awake.