1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

What is the best way to teach myself Greek?

Discussion in '2005 Archive' started by Travelsong, Mar 22, 2005.

1. Travelsong

Travelsong Guest

I'm not sure what the best forum is to post this, but I am interested in learning Greek, and would like to teach myself. I am a beginner so I need material that starts from scratch. Any suggestions?

2. Deacon

Deacon Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Oy vey, Hebrew's easier!

I used the text: "Basic Greek in 30 minutes a day"
    It will teach you enough to translate the Gospel of John, Chapter 1

It taught me enough to know that the phrase "it's Greek to me" has real meaning.

Rob

3. Craigbythesea

Craigbythesea Active Member

4. Spoudazo

Spoudazo New Member

B-Greek is a very "dry" place (can't really discuss theology) but has some helpful information.

However, I would suggest _Basics of Biblical Greek_ by William Mounce (Bill Mounce) and also Parson's "Greek Tutor" which is a computer program.

If possible, have someone tutor you or take a class in it, as it's quite hard to learn it on your own, I know from personal experience! [​IMG]

5. Bluefalcon

Bluefalcon Member

Try Learn to Read New Testament Greek by David Alan Black. It's on a high school level.

Yours,

Bluefalcon

6. Craigbythesea