1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

What's right with BJU?

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Squire Robertsson, Mar 16, 2006.

1. Squire Robertsson

Squire Robertsson Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    We have many threads dealing with Bob Jones University. The latest is What's wrong with BJU?

Rather than try to post pro comments there, I thought it better to start a "What's right. . ." thread. If you have negative comments, please post them to the thread cited above. (Fair Warning: as an Administrator, I will vigorously enforce that polite request.)

2. Nord

Nord New Member

One thing I can think of other than the fact that they are now pursuing accreditation is their high academic standards. What I noticed on other boards even among those who have no use for Christianity (especially conservative) is the respect they had for and recognition that BJU was one of those few unaccredited schools that had high academic standards. BJU grads have been accepted into many of the finest grads schools in the US and out performed other schools on teacher certification exams.

Over and over two unaccredited quality schools were brought up BJU & PCC. BJU more so.

Nord

3. Squire Robertsson

Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    I keep in mind the spiritual collapse of the mainline denominational schools in the first half of twentieth century. So, for good or ill, I see the school as filling the vacuum for a couple generations. They may not have done everything the way I or other good men would have done. But, for many years, they were the only game in town.

4. Rhetorician

Rhetorician Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    To all who have an ear: