1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Which Lexicon, and where to get it.

Discussion in 'Bible Versions & Translations' started by puros_bran, Feb 19, 2009.

1. puros_bran

puros_bran Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    I have decided to undertake a self taught course in NT Greek. I have the UBS 4th ed, the grammer and workbook by Mounce, and several other resources. What I don't have is a Lexicon. I've found several online but I need a paper copy.
    In your opinion which of the various editions is the best?
    Where is the most economical place to secure one?

2. Deacon

Deacon Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    How that saying go....?
    "The more I try to know [about Greek] the more I know I don't know."

Oh, I guess you should have a hardcover lexicon for your bookshelf.

As long as you're using Mounce, might as well get his lexicon;

The Analytical Lexicon to the Greek New Testament
    Zondervan (1992) [Amazon LINK]

[~ $25 on Fetchbook.info LINK]

If you get serious you might look at:
    A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by Bauer, Gingrich, Danker

I'm not sure but Hendrickson might have put out a cheaper copy of it than the pricey original.

Sooner or later you'll find that software is more friendly and takes much of the work out of searching.

Rob

3. Pastor Larry

Pastor Larry <b>Moderator</b>
    Site Supporter

The standard NT lexicon is Bauer Arndt Gingrich and Danker. There is a "Shorter" version of it that is available considerably cheaper than the full version and considerably shorter.

The UBS 4th edition should have a lexicon in the back to get you started.

4. puros_bran

puros_bran Member

Faith:
    Baptist