1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Which seminary is best if I want to stay in academia?

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by habeoChristum, Apr 11, 2008.

1. habeoChristum

habeoChristum New Member

I graduated recently from college and am on staff with a campus ministry. My interest is in studying the relationships of Christianity, church and culture. I want to go to a seminary first (probably for an M. Div) and then go on for a Ph.D. at a top tier secular graduate school or seminary (i.e. Princeton, Yale, etc). So my question is, where should I go to seminary now? I'm looking for:

1. Generally faithful to God's word, though I don't mind some challenging beliefs.
    2. Good in training for academia and research (most seminaries seem to be completely focused on training pastors and missionaries).
    3. A good enough reputation that I could go to on a to top tier graduate school.

Suggestions?

2. PreachTREE

PreachTREE New Member

Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

3. Martin

Martin Active Member

Faith:
    Baptist

The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary

Trinity Evangelical Divinty School

4. PilgrimPastor

PilgrimPastor Member
    Site Supporter

5. StefanM

StefanM Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Can't do an MDiv at DTS, though.

6. Paul33

Paul33 New Member

Forget the M.Div.

Get an M.A. (two years) at Trinity International University - TEDS. Then go on. Why waste time with all of the methods classes. They are completely useless if you are going for a Ph.D.

7. PastorSBC1303

PastorSBC1303 Active Member

I would put my vote in for The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.

8. Rhetorician

Rhetorician Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist