1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Who/What/Where is Babylon in Revelation 17 & 18

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by Gold Dragon, Jun 5, 2010.

?
  1. Rome/Roman Empire

6 vote(s)
    17.1%
  2. London/English Empire

1 vote(s)
    2.9%
  3. New York City/United States

2 vote(s)
    5.7%
  4. Other place

3 vote(s)
    8.6%
  5. Roman Catholic Church

10 vote(s)
    28.6%
  6. Islam

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Capitalism

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Worldiness

2 vote(s)
    5.7%
  9. Other

6 vote(s)
    17.1%
  10. I don't know

5 vote(s)
    14.3%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gold Dragon

Gold Dragon Well-Known Member

Faith:
    Non Baptist Christian
    I'm studying Revelation in my bible study group and was curious about the opinions on BB.

2. TomVols

TomVols New Member

Quite clearly referring to Romish influence, from the church of Rome or the entirety of the Roman Empire. The overwhelming consensus among Bible believers has historically been the RCC.

3. Gold Dragon

Gold Dragon Well-Known Member

Faith:
    Non Baptist Christian
    Just to clarify, if you had that option, would you have voted Rome/Roman Empire and Roman Catholic Church? Or is your vote just for Rome/Roman Empire?

I guess I should have made that one of the options.

4. HankD

HankD Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    NKJV Revelation 17
    5 And on her forehead a name was written: MYSTERY, BABYLON THE GREAT, THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS AND OF THE ABOMINATIONS OF THE EARTH.
    6 I saw the woman, drunk with the blood of the saints and with the blood of the martyrs of Jesus. And when I saw her, I marveled with great amazement.