1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Whole computer shot?

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology Forum' started by Keith M, Jul 5, 2005.

  1. Keith M

    Keith M New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the PC I have at home, I have lost all ability to access the internet. At first I thought it was my ISP, but another ISP has the same result. Any attempt to access anything on the internet gets just the response "the page cannot be found." So what's the deal? Does anyone know if there is a start-up disc for Internet Explorer? No link info will help since there is no connection possible. Should I just trash the entire computer and start out fresh? BTW, I am posting this from my PC at work...
     
  2. Ben W

    Ben W Active Member
    Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,883
    Likes Received:
    6
    It could possibly be a modem error? Could you try dialling in through another modem?
     
  3. prophecynut

    prophecynut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    This happened to me, took it to computer shop and had virus removed.
     
  4. MsGuidedAngel

    MsGuidedAngel Member
    Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    7
    Faith:
    Baptist
    Wow, I am so sorry you're having problems with your computer..

    ummmm Stay away from IE shhhh..

    Try EarthLink or other ISPs whom have dial-up service. AOL is another choice, but, for me I will Never use it.

    Modems are very Cheap now-a-days! [​IMG]

    Even with dial-up connections a Good Fire-Wall should be used, and a Good Anti-Virus Protection. Anti-Spy ware is a good idea also. Most are Free Down-loads!!

    You can go too an electronics store and get software free there for some ISPs..


    Love n' Hugs, YSIC \o/

    KristiAnn
    MsGuidedAngel
     
  5. dianetavegia

    dianetavegia Guest

  6. exscentric

    exscentric Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,290
    Likes Received:
    27
    You might check to be sure your fire wall isn't stopping IE. If you have updated windows lately I've had updates change firewall settings.

    Open control panel, open internet settings and see if you see anything that looks wrong.

    Also open control panel, then open system, then click hardware and click device manager and see if you have any red x's or checks or yellow exclamation points. Any will indicate a problem in the system.

    You might try uninstalling IE from Control panel/add remove programs and reinstall it if you have the program on cdrom. If you don't have it you might be able to borrow from someone or drop me an email and I can burn you a copy.

    Post results from the above and some of us might have some further ideas.

    DON'T TRASH THE COMPUTER it is just a software problem most likely, or possibly a modem as has been mentioned.
     
  7. TexasSky

    TexasSky Guest

    I was having modem trouble on my home system and getting those errors. Some program altered a .dll that my modem needed. I just restored an earlier configuration the first few times, then I got smart and reinstalled the modem software.
     
  8. robertkyxiota

    robertkyxiota New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    At worst all you'd need is maybe a new modem and a full format/reinstall...
     
  9. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,818
    Likes Received:
    1
    Faith:
    Baptist
    Download AdAware on a different computer, burn it, load it on your comp, and run it.

    Do the same with Microsoft AntiSpyware.

    Always check the obvious first.

    You may want to try reseating your modem and swapping out your phone line to your computer with a different one, just in case.
     
Loading...