1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Why do Baptist's not take the "other" ordinance so seriously?

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by jcjordan, Nov 12, 2008.

1. jcjordan

jcjordan New Member

I must admit, I'm new to Southern Baptist life. I've only been a member now for about 10 months. One thing very important to baptist's is that we do the ordinance of baptism correctly. We seem to be very concerned that baptism is by immersion and not sprinkling. In fact, many baptists will even say that those who were baptized by sprinkling, need to be re-baptized the right way. I would like to know why baptist's don't typically take the other ordinance, the Lord's Supper, so seriously. If we are so concerned about doing things exactly how the new testament prescribes, why don't we serve real wine in communion? Grape juice for communion didn't exist until 150 years ago. Also, I think wine is a much better representation of Christ's blood. Also, shouldn't we also always be using unleavened bread?

2. Dr. Bob

Dr. Bob Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    WE do.

We use unleavened wine instead of Rev Welch's brew. Just like Acts.
    We use unleavened matzoh instead of wonder bread, pie crust or some wafer. Just like Acts.
    We observe it every time the church meets for worship. Just like Acts.
    We restrict it to church members in good standing. Just like Acts.

We do use little plastic cup thingies for hygiene and throw them away afterwards. Paul would have too if they'd had them in Acts. ;)

(We are Reformed Baptist, akin to the Founders Movement in the SBC)

3. jcjordan

jcjordan New Member

I figured your church did. However, I think yours is the exception.

4. webdog