1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Win 7 Taskbar

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology Forum' started by TomVols, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. TomVols

    TomVols New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay...I haven't downgraded yet.....

    one thing I like at the bottom of the screen is the new Win 7 taskbar. You can hold the mouse pointer over an icon or webpage and get a snapshot. Or at least I could. Now it doesn't do that and I am not sure what happened. I've given a quick look at the settings. What should I look for to turn this feature back on?
     
  2. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Ratings:
    +0
    It only works if the program is open. If it is a pinned icon but the program is not running you won't get anything. Yes, I know that's elementary but I have run into that one with someone.

    Are you putting the computer to sleep and it won't work afterwards? Do you still have Aero enabled (Aero is required for previews)? Under Advanced System Settings (search for it using the search bar at Start) > Advanced tab > In the Performance section click Settings and check if "Enable Aero peak" option is checked. If it is, uncheck next to the button of "Enable Aero Peak", apply the setting, close it. Re-open the Advanced System Setting again and check the "Enable Aero Peek" box, apply, and close.
     
  3. TomVols

    TomVols New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see "Enable Aero Peek" there. Under taskbar settings, peek is checked but grayed out. Odd. Something has been tweaked here. I did have to have a Dell person do some remote access a while back and peek hasn't shown a thumbnail since.
     
    #3 TomVols, Apr 22, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 22, 2010
  4. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    Is aero turned on? A greyed box for the other would indicate that it is not.

    Runs in my mind I saw an aero package in the theme area, you might have to have one of them selected.
     
Loading...