1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

''Word'' problems

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology Forum' started by laterunner, Feb 17, 2006.

1. laterunner

laterunner New Member

My son caused ''word'' not to open. I uninstalled & reinstalled but it seems that it isn't all removed because it still won't open.
    I have o_O.o. (open office in the meantime) but wan't ''word'' back.Someone sent me a file to remove all of ''word '' but that won't open because m/soft has barred it. Clicking on the accompaning small page telling me to ''unlock'' m/soft security which I can't find --the ''unlock''. Sorry I can't be more helpful I'm a novice silversurfer.

2. Don

Don Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I'm guessing -- did you have the version of Word that came with your new computer? Or did you buy the full version and install it?

See, my new laptop came with a version of Microsoft Office (including Word) that turned out to be only a trial version; as of January 31, it's "locked" and no longer usable unless I pay some money to get the unlock code.

3. exscentric

exscentric Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    If all else fails, you can pick up older versions of Word Perfect cheap, then download a more current version or upgrade fairly cheap. It actually opens in Word mode and even looks like similar.

4. PJ

PJ Active Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Open Office is a nice office suite, and it's free. It's what we've used on our laptop since the 30 day trial ran out on Word.

LINK

5. laterunner

laterunner New Member

Thanks folk for your ideas.
    don--->
    I had the Office 2000 discs from my previous computer which weren't ''trial''.