Adding a dinosaur to my broadband...

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Trotter, Jan 15, 2005.

  1. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently have DSL interent through my phone company. I am wanting to add a router and tie in our old computer, but I need to know if it will work.

    My current computer has on-board 10/100 ethernet. My old computer is a Packard Bell dinosaur w/ a P2 233 MHz processor and 32MB RAM. All the PCI cards and USB adapters I have found thus far state the minimum RAM as 64MB.

    Would either of these work, even though I only have 32MB in the clunker? I have checked on upgrading the memory, but I really don't want to sink anything into it as we are going to try to get our daughter a new computer for her birthday in June.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  2. rsr

    rsr
    Expand Collapse
    <b> 7,000 posts club</b>
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    10,074
    Likes Received:
    102
    The hardware should work, but your operating system may be a bit of a problem. We had a hard time connecting an older machine with Win 98; ME connected just fine.

    What kind of memory does it use? I used to build computers and might have some lying around.
     
  3. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Bell is running Windows 98, and I don't think it is capable of running anyhting better.

    It uses SDRAM 168 pin P66. It currently has two 16MB stacks installed.

    The system is a Packard Bell Multimedia S606. It has the FM 530 (PB 810) motherboard. Although the modem died about five years ago, it is still plucking along. It only has a 4.3GB hard drive, but I salvaged a 1GB out of an IBM Aptiva that I'm going to try to install. Gee, it seems that ATA33 drives have become extinct...

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  4. Dale

    Dale
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    IF you are running win 98 and you have a nic with the drivers then you will be fine.
    Make sure you have TCP/IP installed etc and then make sure it is set to automatically find an IP address.
    I used to use DSL on a PC like that so I know it will work, depending on your definition of work. lol
    I use Macs almost exclusivly now :)
     
  5. Dale

    Dale
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, and if you want a new computer for your daughter check out the Mac Mini. it is an awesome machine and it is only $499. It doesn't come with a monitor but you can use any standard monitor with it.
    I will do a post on it.
     
  6. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dale,

    Care to say that in English?

    "TCP/IP installed"...uh, OK...uh, hmm...if I knew what it was, I just might be able to set it to automatically find the IP addres, if and when I buy the router and adapter.

    I'm hoping that I don't have to have my Windows disk, since it vanished about 6 years ago. But a friend at work will give me one from a defunct computer...if he can find it...

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  7. Pastor Larry

    Pastor Larry
    Expand Collapse
    <b>Moderator</b>
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    IF you are serious about using that computer, spend the $5 and get another 32 MB of RAM. RAM that old is very cheap now and you can probably get on ebay or at a computer show for a little of nothing.
     
  8. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not quite that easy, P_L. The RAM is in two sticks of 16MB. I have found sticks of 32MB online for about $20 a piece.

    Right now I'm trying to decide if I'm going to try it w/o the extra RAM, buy the extra RAM, or just order a 1GHz computer from www.retrobox.com.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  9. Pastor Larry

    Pastor Larry
    Expand Collapse
    <b>Moderator</b>
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    That sounds expensive to me. Do they have computer shows around your place? Usually, people there will have boxes of RAM of all different kinds and sell it cheap. I wouldn't put much money in it. Newer ones are very cheap and worth it in the long run.
     
  10. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, sorta the same comclusion I have come to.

    I'm probably going to get the router and adapter and try it. If it doesn't work, I can return it. If it does, then I have a stop-gap.

    Either way, I'm going to have to get her a decent computer...

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  11. Dale

    Dale
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, sorta the same comclusion I have come to.

    I'm probably going to get the router and adapter and try it. If it doesn't work, I can return it. If it does, then I have a stop-gap.

    Either way, I'm going to have to get her a decent computer...

    In Christ,
    Trotter
    </font>[/QUOTE]Check my post about the Mac MINI if you are in the market for a new one. I am not sure what alll you will be needing to use it for but chances are it will be good for you and at only $499....
     
  12. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have checked it out, Dale. I am seriously considering it. I know that I'll have to replace the monitor (too old, too low resolution).

    How hard is it to find mainstream programs/games for a Mac? Honestly? What good will it do me to buy it, and not be able to find software for it?

    My daughter plats The Sims, Nancy Drew mysteries, things like that. Any of them work on the Mac?

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     

Share This Page

Loading...