Belkin router as Wireless Access Point?

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by TomVols, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Belkin's online help says all Belkin routers can be used as merely a Wireless Access point. However, the software doesn't give you that option. Any ideas?
     
  2. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    15
    Totally guessing but I'd just set up a network on it and see if it doesn't work. There may not be any software for that feature.

    List the model maybe one of us can snoop it out further.

    Online help is not always worth talking to either :-( My first router they said would do what I wanted to do. They failed to tell me I needed a degree in software management to set it up. Took me near an entire day with their techs to do it :)
     
  3. th1bill

    th1bill
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yep, I have the same one that I just gave a customer last month, return that junk and purchase, for a good deal less a trendnet, they work flawlessly.
     
  4. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please clarify.

    For those who asked, I have a Belkin n450.
     
  5. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well, Fri. our network went down at home, router went dead. Cheapest thing I could find is a Belkin n300 so now I know what yours is like :)

    Did you get yours running okay?

    Mine set up nicely though quite different from the last two we've had.
     
  6. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I primarily have the most trouble getting it to shake hands with my DirecTV receiver in an app or two. It's a little slower than my normal wired router. Coverage was not as good as my last Belkin (wirelessly speaking). The dual band router was horrible for wired speed but the wireless range was very good.
     
  7. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    15
    Don't know if you got the rig running as you want but ran across something today.

    I got a surf n300 belkin and it is slow downloading. Contacted support and they wanted me to use it as a "wireless access point" - well the rest of his instructions were totally confusing but thought you might like to know about it.

    Open a browser, type in router in the address bar. If it asks for a password just click on the affirmative leaving it blank (Unless you set one up). Then on the left bar click on "wireless" and up comes a list. Use as wireless access point is one of the options.

    Further than that I have no info :)
     
  8. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    That isn't an option when I type in router or the router IP in my address bar.
     
  9. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am guessing excentric means to set it up as a wireless bridge instead of as a router. My old DSL modem had that option as does my router. Since we switched to cable the new modem does not have that option.
     
  10. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    15
    "That isn't an option when I type in router or the router IP in my address bar."

    The two units must have some differences, software wise at least. Belkin is good about answering email every two days but not too impressed with the totally confusing info I'm getting from the tech.

    Last one told me to connect router one to router two, even though I told him i have a modem and a router??????? Of course reading what you tell them is quite optional on tech support anymore.

    I really don't know why some companies bother offering it because it really is not service anymore.

    One guy it was obvious he did not read my message. After two more times that it was still obvious I asked him to please read my message and answer the question that I ask instead of the many questions I did not ask. He had a great hint that fixed the problem the next time :)
     
  11. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have sent in two queries and one online chat. No help. No response. None.
     
  12. Don

    Don
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    10,298
    Likes Received:
    173
    At this point, I'd have to recommend that you get another router....
     
  13. th1bill

    th1bill
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    12
    First Iḿ sorry that I did not watch this thread but when my customer purchased the same model he called me for a home visit and after an hour of trying to get a sensible answer for Belkin Tech Support I went to my house and put my wireless in line and with no more effort he was on line, instantly. I then purchased a new Trendnet TEW-652BRP, the very same model. All I did when I put it in place was to follow the directions ad set up his security but he was, once more, instantly on line.
     

Share This Page

Loading...