CD/DVD Drive

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by His Blood Spoke My Name, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. His Blood Spoke My Name

    His Blood Spoke My Name
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    my optorite is not working right.

    When I try to install a program that has more than 1 cd, it will install the first and ask for the second. I put the second cd in, and it still says and shows the first cd is still in.

    I have installed the program on my pc before, so I do know both cd's are not the same.

    Any suggestions?

    BTW, I am running Windows Xp Home Edition. The Help file does not help as it gives instructions for getting rid of the Supplemental Cache for Windows 98 which apparently was totally different directions.
     
    #1 His Blood Spoke My Name, Aug 28, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2006
  2. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just some possibles:

    Open the drawer and blow inside as hard as you can. Might clear some dirt.

    Try opening drawer and closing it again after you get the message.

    Try pressing F5, this forces a renew in windows explorer and might help.

    Start/control panel/system/hardware tab/device manager and see if there is any error message on the cd section.

    Be sure second cd isn't scratched. Try it in another computer.
     
  3. His Blood Spoke My Name

    His Blood Spoke My Name
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    have done all this. It retains the previous cd info even if it is just one cd put in. I can turn pc off and back on, but then it wants 1st cd again.

    With 98 apparently there is a way to empty the cd cache. I think that is the problem. It is not emptying.
     
  4. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    F5 should do that I'd think, but then what do I know :tongue3:

    I rather suspect it is having trouble reading disk two or the drive itself is having difficulty.

    Maybe someone else will have to profitable ideas SOON for you :type:
     
  5. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried reseating the IDE cable?

    Turn off your computer, unplug it, and open the side. Touch the metal surrounding the power supply before you reach inside (discharge any static electricity). Unplug the flat cable from the back of the drive, then plug it back in firmly. Repeat this with the other end that plugs into the motherboard. Close up the case, plug it back in, fire it up and give it a try (sorry for the simplistic instructions... I never know how much one knows about these things).

    If it doesn't work, you've lost about 5-10 minutes of time.

    While you have the case open, you might want to do so housecleaning. Clean out the dust with compressed air (about $4 at WalMart).
     
  6. His Blood Spoke My Name

    His Blood Spoke My Name
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    reseated cables before posting. just forgot to mention it. downloaded updated drivers. still no good
    will get new drivers
     

Share This Page

Loading...