Computer difficulty, can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Star, Jul 6, 2002.

  1. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... This afternoon I was about to record some of my husbands business reciepts on "Microsoft money", I'm not computer literate so I don't understand whats happening here.

    I usually go to "Start" then to "programs" and click on Microsoft money, but when I clicked on it it will not come up... In short am I in trouble? Knowing my luck in the past couple of months I probrobly am. A good example is my accountant who pre estimated our taxes and underestimated what we owed by $10,000 so you can imagine, now I can't get the program up in order to record anything, this never happened before so I'm thinking the worst here.

    Any help would be appreciated :confused: unless ofcourse its too late for that :(

    In Him Kim
     
  2. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I feel very stupid right now... I simply "rebooted" and it was restored, why I didn't think of that before posting is beyond me. Could be the heat (puter is in attic) so you can imagine [​IMG]

    In Him Kim :D
     
  3. boris99

    boris99
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'd be surprised to know how many things can be fixed by simply rebooting! [​IMG]
     
  4. Chemnitz

    Chemnitz
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are two answers to all your microsoft problems. Reboot or Reinstall and reboot. The third option is to switch to linux.
     
  5. Son of Consolation

    Son of Consolation
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,000
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that was simple Kim! Glad that you have found your lost files. [​IMG]

    My problem is somewhat similar, in that I have lost my Microsoft Outlook program. Since my office door is always open, one of the building help may have ventured in there and started to play on my computer. So far nobody is willing to admit playing on my computer and take responsibility. Naturally I am at a loss how I may be able to retrieve my Notes and other pertinent data in Microsoft Outlook. The program will not open at all. And when I look for the files, I come up empty handed.

    Any computer savvy person out there, who would know what the problem is and how to retrieve the lost data? It must be some simple click to this and that, but I wish I would know the correct sequence. :confused:

    [ July 10, 2002, 12:22 PM: Message edited by: Barnabas ]
     
  6. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Computer technology lol! Thanks everyone, I continue to grow trying to understand it all its a bit intimidating at times.

    Barnabas, my father is flying in from North Carolina tommorrow and staying with me for the weekend, he's pretty good at the computer stuff I'll see if he can help you out on what to do, maybe not all is lost (as I thought it was). I'll run it by him unless you get a faster solution offered to you here on this thread.

    I DO hate when that happens :mad:

    In Him Kim [​IMG]
     
  7. Son of Consolation

    Son of Consolation
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,000
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Kim! I don't think that the problem will walk away... ;)
     
  8. The Galatian

    The Galatian
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    9,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    And remember:

    Archive your files on floppies or better yet, on CDs
     
  9. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Barnabas but we hope it will! lol! :D

    My father changed his time of arrival to friday afternoon but I promise to ask him for you, just maybe he can help. If he has to know more I'll get him to either private e-mail you or post here...

    ... and don't be thinking your somethin special because I'm introducing you to dad okay? lol! ;) :D

    In Him Kim
     
  10. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Galation,
    I'm glad you brought that up because I don't know how to!!!

    Heres the situation... After entering in the info I close out it asked me if I'd like to "back up" the info. I hit "yes" but it says something like, "Unable to access specific drive".

    Ofcourse I feel like the scarecrow from the Wizard of Oz wishing for a brain here, I'm literally computer disabled (and blonde to boot). What on earth does this mean? Is it asking me to find this access "thing-a-ma-jig" that it wants?

    Gees if this thing can't access a specific drive what makes it think I can? lol!

    Can you help me in that dept? If you can but cannot do this at a kindergarden level, tell me up front so I don't drag you through the painful explanation process and respond with a "huh"? lol!

    In Him Kim [​IMG]
     
  11. Don

    Don
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    10,539
    Likes Received:
    208
    Star, some questions:

    First: Do you have your original installation disks? For instance, with a Hewlitt Packard machine, you should have a CD that's labeled "Recovery Disk." Also, any and all disks for other programs that you may have bought or been given (like games, word processor, etc.)

    If you have the original installation disks, and the CDs or disks for any programs you've installed yourself, then all you really need to back up are your data files.

    Second: Do you have a CD burner? (as in, CD-R or CD-RW)?

    If not, it'll be a little harder, but we can walk you through it.

    After you answer those, we'll proceed.
     
  12. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don

    Thank you, yes I think I have the recovery disk (got to hunt for it) But I don't think I have all the games disks or programs that came preinstalled.

    I definately don't have a CD burner, unless a lighted match will do the trick? :D ;)

    Think you can help me out? I really dread tackling computer tech stuff, unless its fun stuff :D But thats just the kid in me talking.

    In Him Kim
     
  13. Clint Kritzer

    Clint Kritzer
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    7,739
    Likes Received:
    4
    We use MSMoney as well. When it ask you if you want to backup, put a blank floppy disk in the A-drive and then hit yes. It sounds like you don't have the disk in when it ask you for it. Use the same disk everytime. The computer will update it at each closing.

    Margie usually handles that program. Let me know if you're still having problems. She's learned the ins and outs of MSMoney. NOT the most user-friendly thing MicroSoft ever put out.

    [ July 11, 2002, 02:13 AM: Message edited by: Clint Kritzer ]
     
  14. Don

    Don
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Messages:
    10,539
    Likes Received:
    208
    Star, if it's a Hewlitt Packard, the preinstalled programs will be on the recovery disk.

    If you're mainly worried about your MSMoney files, go with what Clint gave you.

    To back up anything else, try the following.

    Get yourself some floppies. Open up your "My Documents" folder, and copy everything in there to the floppy disks. Easiest way is to click on "Edit," then "Select All," then "Edit" and "Copy." Then open up "My Computer," then "3 1/2 A:" drive. Finally, click on "Edit" and then "Paste."

    If you've got a lot of documents in there, then you're going to eventually get a "disk full" message. Figure out which files made it to the floppy, put in a new floppy, then go back to the "My Documents" window, select the files that didn't get copied, and follow the rest of the steps to copy them.

    Next question: Do you have a "zip" program, like WinZip or FreeZip?
     
  15. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clint Thank you, but heres the other problem, when I do insert a floppy it tells me its not enabled, again I'm left with, "what the heck am I going to do now"? I'm no Wiz at this and it seems after I follow one set of instructions which takes hours to gather and seconds to perform theres a new set of questions because something else is needed for the required task...ARGH!

    What was I thinking when I bought this thing? lol!

    Don,

    I'm not sure about the Zip file thing, I know when I receive them I believe they open funny, kind of like in a coded box. If I had what your asking for where would I find it?

    If I can get a head start here on this before my father gets here maybe he can walk me through the rest.

    My computer is up in the attic and he cannot take the heat up here in the summer months, no air and the temperature near the mid hundreds.

    I've got to go to Sears or something for a window unit, this is ridiculous.

    In Him Kim [​IMG]
     
  16. Margie Kritzer

    Margie Kritzer
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/Margie.gif>

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    You've brought up the problem with heat in your attic, and I would consider that a factor as far as a mechanical problem would go. It is possible that your A-drive isn't functioning properly. Do you have another floppy disk you could put in and try to read? If you can pull up a document from a floppy disk, then we know it's probably ok.

    When I use Microsoft Money, I "back up" everything onto a floppy (you don't need a CD burner, I haven't filled a floppy with the money program yet). This means that everything is saved on the computer AND also on the removable floppy. I can't tell you how many times I've had to reformat the hard drive after an unexpected crash and had to start over using that back up disk!!!

    So you're in Microsoft Money, entering data. Now you're ready to stop. When you go to exit, select "backup" from the File option(remember, if you don't, it will still be saved on the computer anyway). It will give you a dialog box that tells you how long it's been since the last backup...put the new floppy all the way in the drive and make sure you've selected "A:" for your backup. That's important! You get more than one option.

    Clint and I know a way to make sure your A drive IS enabled...but it's more complicated, so just very purposefully try to back up the normal way ONE MORE TIME!

    BTW: I've spent hours with phone technicians over the years. AST has one of the best (but long waiting period) help lines I've ever used. They'll spend hours with you without charging you...the catch is you need to have an AST computer. What does your computer brand offer in the way of tech (phone) help?
     
  17. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know Margie... My sister said the same thing about the heat, I should definately get an air conditioner up here... The problem was I was trying to make accessing the computer more difficult because I can find myself using it way too often especially because I have a three year old that needs me and sometimes I do abuse the privledge. So I moved it upstairs but I'm still here on it lol!

    I don't know why but I do fear a Crash but to tell you the truth I think its more worth it to re enter the info then to figure out how to get the thing going so I don't have to ya know? Well, I figure I copy it all anyway to paper and could care less about retaining it except for the IRS so at least every three months I copy, it can't be too bad going back only three months (thats even if it crashes at the end of the three).

    I'll give it a go one more time if not I'll be really specific as to whats said to me and post it here hopefully I'll get somewhere.

    I don't meet the "catch" for the hours of free help (darn!) I have a Compaq but I forgot to sign up for extended help hours and I called by chance five days after it expired, I'll buy a different brand next time, gee... thanks for the reminder Compaq lol!

    Gotta run, thanks for sharing this Margie much appreciated! [​IMG]

    In Him Kim
     
  18. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Barnabas,,
    My dad was unable to fix my problem or comprehending what it was. We tried everything getting messages against every "right" thing we did do. He's usually a life saver in these things but he can't help either of us :( I ran your problem by him but he said he was unfamiliar with it and appologizes that he wasn't able to give you a hand with it.

    Well... I'm gonna cough up the bucks and see if someone can give me a hand over the phone on this one.

    Sorry Barnabas I wish I could have helped you out here and get a little help for myself as well. I'll call my sister just maybe she might know (don't hold your breath though) but if she can help I'll post back on this thread.

    Again, I'm sorry I couldn't help.

    In Him Kim
     
  19. Son of Consolation

    Son of Consolation
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,000
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do not worry over this one Kim. I thought that I might get an easy fix over the Net, that is why I submitted the problem on this board. But this Wednesday I'll have our company technician stop by and will look into the matter.

    As it turned out, because somebody messed with my computer, I have lost Internet connection, lost the Miscrosoft Outlook Express, the Address Book, and all information I had logged into the MOE. It must be there somewhere on the harddrive, so we'll know it Wednesday. I also had my LexMarks Z-31 inkjet printer broken, so they're going to give me a replacement. Never a new one, but a factory remake. I was about to print my Sunday School lesson homework papers when I got the message: "Fatal Printer Head Failure." I had to transfer the info to a floppy, go to a local Xerox copy center with a computer printer in house, and print the material there. But all worked out well at the end. Now I'll be waiting for this latest problems to be solved on Wednesday.

    Thanks again for trying! [​IMG]

    [ July 15, 2002, 09:40 AM: Message edited by: Barnabas ]
     
  20. Star

    Star
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem Barnabas just wished I could have helped. Good ol' Dad erased 200 of my favorites somehow, and when I tried to sign in to the boards I somehow needed to resign on again. He deleted all my cookies, I thought that might have something to do with it, I'm not sure. I'm a little upset about the favorites thing, I want to homeschool my daughter and added a bunch of favorites that I researched out for future notice and now they are in cyberspace! Argh!

    Starting from scratch here on "other areas" that were just fine and needed no adjustment before Dad took over lol! Still have my same ol' problems and some more... Can anyone blame me for NOT wanting to fix a single one of these problems? The Snowball effect lol!

    Good luck to you Barnabas [​IMG]
    In Him Kim
     

Share This Page

Loading...