1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Covenant Theology: What is it?

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by ReformedBaptist, Aug 4, 2008.

1. ReformedBaptist

ReformedBaptist Well-Known Member

Hey BB,

Some threads have raised the subject of Covenant Theology and Dispensationalism. Some of the claims of dispensationalists have been shocking to me. I am by no means an expert on Dispensationalism. Likewise, I am not well versed, as they say, on Covenant Theology. But I have yet to hear something said about Covenant Theology that strikes me as wholly unbliblical.

So what are you thoughts? What do you understand Covenant Theology to be? What is Dispensationalism? What is the importance of these subjects? Why do they oppose each other?

I am not looking for exactness here. I am really looking to see how folks understand these subjects, whether they understand them correctly or not. My request is that we proceed with charity toward one another. This doesn't mean we should be spineless. What I mean is dealing with the ideas rather than persons.

Here are some interesting statements on Covenant Theology that I find wholly agreeable to God's Word.

"The covenant of all the fathers is so far from differing substantially from ours, that it is the very same. Only the administration varies." -John Calvin

"If the subject still appears involved in any obscurity, let us proceed to the very form of the covenant; which will not only satisfy sober minds, but will abundantly prove the ignorance of those who endeavour to oppose it. For the Lord has always covenanted thus with his servants: "I will be to you a God, and ye shall be to me a people" (Lv. xxvi. 12). - John Calvin

And again,