1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

discouraging parent

Discussion in 'Pastoral Ministries' started by steveo, Feb 21, 2005.

1. steveo

steveo New Member

I have a situation I wanted to get some feedback on. My father has always been discouraging and especially now since I am a pastor.
    Every time I talk to him he has something to say to bring me down. Right now he isn't living as a christian even though he claims he is. He does have alot of knowledge but never has lived it. He doesn't go to church and he is on his 5th marriage. He is my dad and I love him, but I'm finding myself not wanting to answer his calls or be around him. Have any of you pastors had a parent or famly member like this and what did you do? I have read scriptures like Rom 12:18, but just not sure what to do?

2. TaterTot

TaterTot Guest

We have this issue with my husband's parents. They have never "approved" - ever. They do go to church and claim Christianity. But they often say cutting things like, "when you get a large church..." or "you can't know..." or "you know, to be successful, you really need a better car". Stupid stuff! Never once have they said "I'm praying for you", "I'm proud of you", nothing. Some people are just that way. Yes, it hurts. Parental disapproval or discouragement is painful. But learn from it, and mentor someone. Maybe you can be to someone what you wished you had had. Did that make sense? Hope so.

3. steveo

steveo New Member

Thanks Tater Tot.
    One of the men at our church has been wonderful to me. He has been encouraging and even says he thinks of me as his son. And we do have the best father in our heavenly father.
    I feel better about the situation today.