Hey Geniuses!! what about screenshots?

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by tinytim, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that is what they are called..

    Here is what I am trying to do...
    I want to take a picture of a couple screens from our church's website, and use them in a powerpoint lesson on how to navigate the website.

    How do I do this?
    Is there freeware, or does my computer already have that capability.

    I am running Windows XP.
     
  2. mcdirector

    mcdirector
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    8,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    I use screenshots all the time. You can download programs but your computer does it for you with a little button called PRNT SCRN.

    You can copy the screen into Paint (or some fancier program) and cut it up and manipulate it to your heart's content.
     
  3. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... I know I am not a genius, but my prnt scrn doesn't seem to work...

    Can you give me step by step instructions....

    How do I copy it into paint?

    Bitsy you are a genius... even if you are a woman!
     
  4. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    "even if you are a woman!" MAN I hope you are sitting under a table!!!!!!!:tonofbricks:

    Get to the screen you want - press print screen - go to your paint program and click on edit/paste or control V should do it.

    Works on mine anyway.
     
  5. mcdirector

    mcdirector
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    8,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    good thing exscentric helped you, you big oaf!

    humpf!
     
  6. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Feel the .....er.....compassion!!!!
     
  7. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0

    It worked!!!

    Wow....

    Thanks alot!

    Love you too, Bitsy!!! :smilewinkgrin:
     
  8. kubel

    kubel
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you just want to take a screenshot of one window, make sure the window is active, and use ALT + Print Screen. This way you can leave out the taskbar and can screenshot resized windows without stuff in the background appearing.
     
  9. Dale-c

    Dale-c
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows screen shots are way to complicated.
    I do know how to do it. prt scrn paste to paint.....
    on a Mac....cmd shift 3 and a pic file is on your desktop
    cmd shift 4 and you can select a portion of the screen or you can hit the space bar to toggle between that and taking a single window
    I use it a lot and it is so much better than windows.
    But then you already knew I thought that :)

    If I want to take Windows screen shots, I open a Windows Virtual machine on my Mac and take screen shot of the Windows screen the Mac way :)
     
  10. mnw

    mnw
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. ccrobinson

    ccrobinson
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Screenshots are too complicated in Windows? :confused:

    What's so complicated about using "Prnt Scrn" or "Alt+Prnt Scrn", then opening Mspaint and hitting "Ctrl+V" to paste it? 3 steps is too complicated for the Mac crowd?

    There might be ways to score points on the Mac ease-of-use (never used one myself), but the screenshot process isn't one of those ways.
     
  12. baptistteacher

    baptistteacher
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    MNW - interesting site!!
     
  13. baptistteacher

    baptistteacher
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    ccrobinson
    - Lets see, One step, or Three steps …
    Not much difference, but still simpler.
     
  14. mnw

    mnw
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Teacher, did you like the site? :) It made me smile.

    So its come to this - the better OS is down to how many buttons you have to press to achieve the desired goal?

    I have to say, if it needs to be simpler than "Prt Scr" and then "ctrl v" into the desired document (Word or anything else) then there are bigger issues about the user, not the OS.

    The convinience is great, if I just want a single window I hit "alt/prt scr" if I want the whole desktop it is just "prt scr".

    Macs may have some points on Windows, but this function is not one of them. :thumbs:
     
  15. Dale-c

    Dale-c
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done screen shots with both a lot.....it is a lot easier with OS X.

    In windows it is really more than three steps to get the same result.

    To get a jpg or png etc on the desktop on windows you must.....hit prnt scrn/open paint which requires about 3 clicks by default (start/all programs/accessories/paint/) I guess that is 4 clicks, then you paste by hitting edit paste or ctrl v.
    then you have to go to the file menu and save or his ctrl s.

    On the Mac you hit cmd shft 3 and you can a picture file on your desktop.

    Just a wee bit easier.
     
  16. Brother Bob

    Brother Bob
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    12,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could take a digital camera and take a picture and then scan it and save it to wherever you want. Or you could just walk around carrying the monitor. :)
     
  17. tinytim

    tinytim
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/tim2.jpg>

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or I could take a reg camera... take a picture.. . develop it.... scan it.....

    voila!!!
     
  18. Brother Bob

    Brother Bob
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    12,723
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. Magnetic Poles

    Magnetic Poles
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or take art lessons, and draw a picture of the screen, then scan that in.
     
  20. mcdirector

    mcdirector
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    8,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ack! Just buy a new computer that can read your mind!
     

Share This Page

Loading...