Hibernate vs. Standby

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by TomVols, Dec 1, 2005.

  1. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are the pros and cons of either using Hibernation mode or Standby?
     
  2. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Desktop:

    I don't use either. I allow my monitor to go on standby/screensaver and then off after a period of time.

    I have my AntiVirus and Scanner set up scan during downtime.

    Laptop:

    Depends.. Am I coming back to it today? Hibernation, if not, then I turn it off.

    Jamie
     
  3. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've tried standby on two desktops and it seems to hang something up and rebooting becomes way too common, however I use standby on the laptop all the time and have had no problems.

    I have a ton of junk on the desktop so more to hang I'd guess, laptop is just basic net stuff and word processing.
     
  4. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    SO long as you close any open programs, Stanby seems to work pretty good on my comp.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  5. NaasPreacher (C4K)

    NaasPreacher (C4K)
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    26,806
    Likes Received:
    78
    I only learned this yesterday Trotter [​IMG] .
     
  6. bruren777

    bruren777
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    A DSL question,
    I have had DSL for some time, I recently heard that even when your computer is off, it's still on the internet. Therefore it's at risk from hackers.

    I have a Firewall, so what's the difference if my computer is on or not?

    One person told me they disconnect their computer when they are not using their computer, Again a firewall should protect the computer.

    Since I have virtually no knowledge of this area computers I would appreciate some input.

    Thank you.
     
  7. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    The person who told you this.... don't believe them.

    When a computer is off, it's not connected. How can it be? Now, the router &lt;the box between your computer and the wire in the wall&gt; now that is still "on". It keeps the connection active with the provider until you turn your computer back on.

    Hackers can't "get" to your computer when it's off.

    Now, let's expand this some.. If you have Wireless DSL in your home, a hacker or neighibor for that matter, can "use" your internet access if it's not password protected. What is the harm here? Nothing really if the computer is off, but so many people have wireless &lt;WiFi&gt; in their house and allow people to connect, well if they can connect to your access, then there is a slight chance they can also connect to your computer, or even your router, which them they can change the settings, passwords, etc.

    Point being:

    If your computer is off, no one can touch it.

    If your router is On, no biggy unless you have a wireless router

    If you have a wireless router, have it set with a password and you're all set, nothing major to worry about. If you need help with any of the above PM, I'll help where I can.

    Jamie

    Anyways... enough rambling..
     
  8. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I'm wanting a little more of what happens technically when you hibernate vs. standby. Seems like I've read one takes up more space and can slow your computer down the longer it's running.
     
  9. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hiya Tom,

    In hibernate mode, the system "sets a bookmark" for all programs running, and saves those bookmarks to the hard drive. When you turn on the computer again, all those programs you had open will reopen in the same places there were when you hibernated the system.

    In Standby, the system still runs and the programs will still run.

    Under StandBy mode, the system does tend to use more memory to keep things running, and keep the system in "StandBy"

    This is why some people's systems will "lock" up or run slow on them, I would guess they run short of memory, and their swap file &lt;hard drive space allotted to memory swapping&gt; is getting full.


    An example would be when you're scanning your hard drive with your Anti-Virus program.

    Under this example:

    Hibernate: The system will stop the AntiVirus scan, will "save" it's spot where it left off, and will close as the system shuts down. When you restart your computer, it will find that saved spot and restart the AntiVirus program in the same place it left off.

    StandBy: The System will continue with the scan normally. The exception to this, is if you have StandBy set to shut down the hard drive after a period of time.

    In Standby, you can set what shuts down, and after how much time.

    Some people have it shut down everything after 5 minutes. Others have it shut down the montior after 5 minutes, and the hard drive after 10 minutes.

    These are all settings you can set, and I am not sure what default is on a Windows machine, but I would guess that it shuts everything down after a period of 10-15 minutes.


    I hope this helps answer the question.

    Jamie

    P.S.

    Windows don't handle memory well, when a program is closed, it doesn't always release the used memory.

    I use a small program that I run in my system tray that handles that. It reclaims memory from time to time. This might be something you want to look into and it's a Free.
    You can see this program here:
    http://www.amsn.ro/
     
  10. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, for my laptop, which is better? Which is better when running on AC? What about the battery? Thanks [​IMG]
     
  11. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, thanks for the link. I've downloaded it, and am giving it a try. [​IMG]

    In Christ,
    Trotter

    [ December 24, 2005, 03:27 AM: Message edited by: Trotter ]
     
  12. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    With my ThinkPad, I use Shutdown if I am not going to use it for a while.

    If I am coming back to it shortly, then I hibernate it.


    If it's on Battery power, I always shut it down, to save power.

    Jamie
     
  13. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, thanks for the link. I've downloaded it, and am giving it a try. [​IMG]

    In Christ,
    Trotter
    </font>[/QUOTE]Yea, it's a niffy little program. They have a paid for version, but I haven't needed that, the free one takes care of my needs so far.

    Jamie
     
  14. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, thanks for the link. I've downloaded it, and am giving it a try. [​IMG]

    In Christ,
    Trotter
    </font>[/QUOTE]Yea, it's a niffy little program. They have a paid for version, but I haven't needed that, the free one takes care of my needs so far.

    Jamie
    </font>[/QUOTE]What does this do again?
     
  15. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hiya Tom,

    This program runs in the background and frees up memory.

    Everytime you open a program it uses memory, when the program is closed, it doesn't always free up the memory it used, resulting in more and more memory not being accessible, and your computer running slower and slower because it has to use the swap file vers mermory.

    This program will run from time to time and reclaim unused memory freeing it up to be used for other programs.

    Life Example:

    You go to make a cheese sandwish, you pull out two slices of bread and two slices of cheese.

    You only make one sandwich, with one slice of cheese, but you don't put the other slice back in the frig.

    Over time, you will go to the frig and find no cheese, as it's all in the counter, and not in the frig.

    The program &lt;the wife&gt; will come behind you and put that unused slice away in the frig so next time you go to the frig, it will be there.

    [​IMG]

    Jamie
     
  16. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the program that frees memory TAKE UP memory? [​IMG]
     
  17. JamieinNH

    JamieinNH
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but only a very very small amount. The memory is frees it more than worth the memory it takes.

    Jamie
     
  18. Daisy

    Daisy
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi TomVols,

    Standby will use up your battery if it's left in that state for any large amount of time. I mostly use my laptop with AC and it tends to run hot in standby mode. When I put it away in its case in hybernate mode, it never gets hot. I never use standby anymore for those reasons.
     
  19. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like under hibernate, your hd will fragment a lot and will cause problems for the computer. Am I wrong?
     
  20. standingfirminChrist

    standingfirminChrist
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hibernation vs Standby Modes are very similar and people sometimes confuse the differences. Standby turns off power consuming components like the hard disks and monitor. It switches the computer to a low power state. Its much like a warm boot. Any contents of memory and unsaved desktop settings are lost. Hibernation saves state information by writing a hibernation file which contains the contents of memory and is the same size as total RAM. This is a snapshot of active memory. When you turn your PC back on, the state, including which applications are running (desktop) and the memory contents are restored to RAM and voila! - you are back to where you were when Hibernation mode started. The restoration of state can take place in 5 minutes, 5 hours, 5 days, 5 weeks, ....

    Hibernation is only available if your system is ACPI-compatible. If it is not, the Hibernation tab will be missing and you will have an APM tab instead. To enable Hibernation mode as one of your Shutdown options:

    • click Start / Control Panel
    • double-click Power Options icon
    • click Hibernate tab and select the Enable hibernate support check box
    if the tab is not there, Xp does not support the feature on your hardware, bios, or whatever. The same dialog box show free disk space and required space to store memory. If it is missing, check for a newer bios for the motherboard.
    • click Apply
     

Share This Page

Loading...