Linux Help

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Pastor Larry, Jul 31, 2004.

  1. Pastor Larry

    Pastor Larry
    Expand Collapse
    <b>Moderator</b>
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Who here is the resident Linux expert?? I asked this question before but got sidetracked since the system wasn't ready yet.

    Anyway, I have a server running RedHat 8 or 9 (I can't remember). I just installed a modem in it (hardset to Com 4 IRQ3). I want to use the server as a webserver. I am still using dial up (I know that is so 90s but I need access in two different places and dial up is the only way to get it). Basically, I want to be able to dial out on the server modem and access the internet through the network.

    First, I have to get the modem operational. The "query modem" tab says the modem is not responding.

    Second, I have to get the internet access out over the router, if possible.

    Anyone know how to do this??
     
  2. Shammai

    Shammai
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not an expert.

    but...

    First question: is it a winmodem?

    Winmodems (very popular and often internal modems) are 'lazy'; they use the windows Operating System to force the computer's CPU to do work for them. In essence, they slow down your PC.

    So an external modem is often a wise choice. (I have a modem blaster - US Robotics tends to be a popular choice - but just make sure it's not a winmodem - which means reading the documentation for your modem or use pnpdump, noted below)

    If you do not have a winmodem there may be another problem.

    Linux does not use the windows 'com' port concept; it uses ttys.

    normally, if you are logged in as root: in xterm (an x-terminal window in x-windows) "pnpdump |more" -- as I noted below, I'm assuming you have a plug-n-play modem. If the output is brief or has the word "win" in it -- it's a winmodem.

    However, your modem query tab does the same sort of thing.
     
  3. Shammai

    Shammai
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, I forgot to be more clear: Winmodems don't work in Linux at all.
     
  4. Shammai

    Shammai
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check out this site:
    http://www.justlinux.com/nhf/Modems/ISA_PNP_Modems.html

    (I assumed you are using a plug-n-play modem. If not, pnpdump is no good).

    If you do not have a winmodem and you get a lengthy detail from pnpdump, this webpage has details on how to configure a modem.
     
  5. Pastor Larry

    Pastor Larry
    Expand Collapse
    <b>Moderator</b>
    Moderator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not a PNP modem. It vcan be set that way, but I have it hardset. I will look at that page. Thanks,
     

Share This Page

Loading...