Menu Overlap

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by just-want-peace, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. just-want-peace

    just-want-peace
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    40
    I'm using Mozilla Firefox, but I'm having a problem with the menus on all pages.

    Hope I can describe the problem so's you can understand!

    Anyway, the drop-down menus where you put the mouse on a topic, "Features" for instance, and the special menu of "FEATURES" options pops up, does not "erase" the material that it is superimposed over.
    For instance, if the "FEATURES" menu were as follows:
    COLORS
    SIZES
    TEXTURES
    CONSTRUCTION

    and this menu came up, it would be literally superimposed over whatever the display was/is under the menu area; such that you would see both the menu AND the picture or message or whatever, under the menu!

    In most cases, this causes the menu to be impossible to read accurately.

    Any suggestions? Thanks
     
  2. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    j-w-p,

    Huh? I don't get it. What drop-down menus? Like when you click "File" or "Bookmarks"?

    I don't have any drop-down menus that pop up when I put my cursor over them, so I'm not real sure what you mean. Is the page beneath the menu bleeding through? Or is the menu staying on the page after you move off of its trigger?

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  3. just-want-peace

    just-want-peace
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    40
    It's like if you go to the top of your screen, and click on "FILE" you'll notice that there is a menu that overrides the page content. This is working just as it's supposed to, but my problem is with the menus on a page.

    Go to this site ( http://www.galleryofguns.com/ )and just move the mouse to "GUN GALLERY" close to the top, left side. You'll see the menu options for that choice appear.

    When I use IE, the menu is a gray background with black lettering, completely blanking the information underneath on the regular page completely.

    With Firefox, ONLY the lettering of the menu appears (no background) WITHOUT blanking the underlying picture/text; making it virtually impossible to read.
     
  4. superdave

    superdave
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is most likely a problem with Firefox (and Mozilla) with interpreting DHTML, (Dynamic HTML, similar to java menus) it is being addressed and will probably be fixed in a later release of the browser. You could check to make sure if you have the latest version, you also could ask the site to use web standards to build their code, and not just assume everyone uses IE. But that is a whole other topic.
     
  5. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dunno. The pop-up menus worked fine for me.

    What version of FF are you running? What is your resolution setting? What is your refresh rate?

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  6. superdave

    superdave
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using Mozilla 1.7 and the menus looked fine, sorry, haven't loaded firefox into my Linux partition. Ill check later.
     
  7. superdave

    superdave
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    2,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    make that mozilla 1.4.1
     

Share This Page

Loading...