1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

NLT study bible

Discussion in 'Bible Versions & Translations' started by Jun85, Nov 17, 2007.

1. Jun85

Jun85 New Member

Hi there
    I am currently a university student and am thinking about looking for a NLT study bible to complement my NKJV. I dont know whether the Student bibles would be good because they are mainly focused towards jr high/high school students so. I am in my latter yrs of university. If anyone could recommend/suggest a NLT study bible I would appreciate it. Also, if anyone could comment on the translation itself, that would be awesome. I know its not supposed to be word for word and that it helps with understanding easier, but does it convey the message correctly?

Thank you!

#1 Jun85, Nov 17, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 17, 2007
  2. thomas15

thomas15 Well-Known Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    I'm I correct in assuming that you now have a NKJV "Study Bible", such as the one published by Nelson?

OK, I have a collection of Study Bibles, in total I have about 15 of them in various translations and versions. The only one that I have in NLT is the Life Application Study Bible, mine has the NLT in the first edition of the translation. So there are two issues, 1. what do I think about the NLT and 2. What do I think of the notes and helps in the Life Application Study Bible.

#1 My opinion of the NLT is that it is an improvement over the orig Living Bible. To me though, it still reads like a paraphrase. Over all I think it is a good contrasting text for you to use with the NKJV, especally for recreational reading. For serious study, you will need the NKJV.