Seems I'm still having problems

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by MB, May 8, 2006.

  1. MB

    MB
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    13
    You guy's might remember that I told you I was able to fix my Key board problems by doing a system restore. The Key board works intermittently now so I looked at the control panel againg. Now it seems that either I have duplicated all the programs by using the restore or it has created short cuts for every thing in my computer on the control panel I think I'm going to have to do a complete install of everything all over again. My problem is I hope that the recovery part of the Hard drive is still ok. So many problems from just having to reroute the Key board lead.
    MB
     
  2. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Doubt restore would do that, but then we are talking micro soft so we won't discount that entirely :)

    You might try rebooting and not starting anything, then reboot twice more without starting anything, then shut down and turn power off for 15 seconds then try it.

    XP supposedly has an ability to clear up some problems itself. This is a weird problem so maybe Windows knows something for a change :)

    Just in case you restore area of the drive gets damaged, I think manufacturers will supply cds for restore if you press them.
     
  3. MB

    MB
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hi Exscentric;
    Thanks. I'll try that, but I think I'm still going to have to go for a clean install. Oh well it'll probably take serveral hours.
    MB
     
  4. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know about from the restore patition on a hard drive, but booting from a Windows disk you can choose to "Repair Windows", which reinstalls Windows on top of itself without touching anything else.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  5. SpiritualMadMan

    SpiritualMadMan
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    Caution there are two places where, when booting from the CD, you can select the "Repair" option...

    Skip the First instance and act like you are going to install a fresh copy...

    You should be given another screen that will get you into the "Repair" mode Trotter is talking about...

    Carefully read every screen or you may miss the First "Repair" option...

    Depending upon how 'trashed' stuff is you may or may not have a clean Start Menu system...

    But, that's a small price to pay to have access to your files. [​IMG]

    In my daughters case that didn't work and I had to reinstall in the same partition without reformatting...

    This lost all the registry entries for the installed programs. But, her data was left pretty much intact...

    Reclaiming and re-integrating that data is a whole nuther thread... :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...