1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Speaking in Tongues-Baptist Style

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by Suzie MC, Apr 12, 2003.

1. Suzie MC

Suzie MC New Member

Hi All,
    I'm a newbie here, this is my first post :D I'm a bit confused about the Baptist interpretation of speaking in tongues. A friend and I recently discussed the topic and I realized I needed to be more well informed! Some of my prior understandings may have been wrong. I'm open to what you have to say?
    Thanks, Suzie MC [​IMG]

2. RaptureReady

RaptureReady New Member

Well first off, welcome Suzi MC. You may or may not get quite a few answers on this subject. My answer, get a KJB, a strong's concordance and look up, "tongues," "spirital gifts," "signs and wonders," this is a good start. Here is a link that has some verse references. http://www.biblebelievers.com/jmelton/tongues.html

Me, I believe speaking in tongues was a sign for the unbelieving Jew. Tongues was a languages like English, Russian, Greek, Latin, etc. They relayed God's word to the nation of Israel(Jews) that they would believe on Jesus. Some did believe the sign, but saddly some did not and those people crucified Jesus.

Today we no longer need a sign because we have the Bible to hear God's word and have faith in it to trust Jesus as our saviour.

Hoped this help a little bit.

HB

3. atestring

atestring New Member

a Baptist view of anything will have as many opinions as carter has pills.
    Ther are not only lots of Baptist but there are many types of Baptist.
    There are fundamental, conservative, liberal, Southern and not so Southern. The Priesthood of the believer concept leaves interpretation to each individual person.