1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

The Difference?

Discussion in '2005 Archive' started by wtrsju, Mar 1, 2005.

1. wtrsju

wtrsju New Member

I am new to Christian theology and was thinking manybe I could get some insights as to the basic difference between calvinism and arminianism. This is not so much for debate, but just so I understand the basic differences and beliefs.

2. ILUVLIGHT

ILUVLIGHT Guest

Hi wtrsju;
    The best way to find out is to read the post on the board there is also archives you can check out.
    Another way is to type the name of the doctrine in your browser address bar and hit go. then check out the references.
    May Christ Shine His Light On Us All;
    Mike [​IMG]

3. johnp.

johnp. New Member

Hello wtrsju nice to meet you.

I think the easiest way to start is to let you know that as far as Calvinism is concerned it is concerned with the Sovereignty of God. This is the backbone of Calvinism, it's strength and it's glory.

As far as I know Calvinism is the only religion in the world that says that it is God that saves men and God alone. Nothing the man does or thinks will help him to put his faith in Jesus unless Jesus gives him the faith he needs. It is God's choice who He loves.
    The reason man is in this condition is because of original sin and this is known as Total Depravity (also known as Total Inability).
    God determined that there was to be no condition needed for salvation except His choice. He chooses the saved (elect) according to His will and this is not based on anything in man. This is called Unconditional Election.