1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

W-2 Vs 1099

Discussion in '2000-02 Archive' started by ChuckS, Jan 20, 2002.

1. ChuckS

ChuckS New Member

I am a Bivocational Pastor, at my first church they filled out a W-2 but listed no withholdings.
    At my current church the CPA we have doing our books says I cant have a W-2, I need a 1099, because the church does not with hold anything.
    I have heard that the W-2 is the prefered way for Pastors but I do not have any proof to show the CPA.
    If I can have a W-2, is that the way to go? And where can I point the CPA to look in order to show him this?

ChuckS

2. trying2understand

trying2understand New Member

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ChuckS:
    I am a Bivocational Pastor, at my first church they filled out a W-2 but listed no withholdings.
    At my current church the CPA we have doing our books says I cant have a W-2, I need a 1099, because the church does not with hold anything.
    I have heard that the W-2 is the prefered way for Pastors but I do not have any proof to show the CPA.
    If I can have a W-2, is that the way to go? And where can I point the CPA to look in order to show him this?

ChuckS
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It comes down to whether you are an "employee" of the church or an "independent contractor".

According to the Tax Court’s “7 point” test, most pastors are considered employees of the church for federal income tax purposes but are considered self-employed for Social Security purposes. Therefore, there should be a W4 form on file for each pastor and he should receive a W2 at the end of the year.

In reality, I have seen it done both ways.

Ron

[ January 20, 2002: Message edited by: trying2understand ]

3. TomVols