1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Why is ATS seen as Superior?

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by untangled, Sep 22, 2005.

1. untangled

untangled Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    Hey Brothers,

Today I was thinking about this. I believe in accreditation. However, why do alot of these Christian seminaries call non ATS accredited M.Div's junk?

I've seen a few really good programs that were not ATS accredited. Namely, BBC and Seminary, LBTS and others. Some churches (alot these days) are screaming ATS or nothing. Why is that?

I'm glad I pastor a church that does not care if my degree is going to be ATS accredited or not.

Don't get me wrong, accreditation is good but people are killing me with this ATS stuff.

In Christ,

Brooks

2. TCassidy

TCassidy Late-Administator Emeritus
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    I don't know of anyone who thinks M.Divs. from accredited Seminaries not accredited by the Association of Theological Schools are "junk."

Of the schools you mentioned, Liberty is accredited by TRACS and BBC is accredited by the Association for Biblical Higher Education.

TRACS, ATS, and ABHE all meet exactly the same Department of Education requirements. Those who say one type of accreditation is better than another, or that regional is better than national, are like the KJVOs. What they really mean is "my accredited school is better than your accredited school, so ha, ha, ha." It is simply ignorance of the accreditation process.

3. Broadus

Broadus Member

I haven't heard of any evangelical seminary calling non-ATS but regionally-accredited seminaries "junk." Do you have some examples?

Bill

4. untangled

untangled Member

Faith:
    Baptist