Wireless Problem

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Gwen, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Gwen

    Gwen
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,107
    Likes Received:
    5
    My son is having a problem connecting to wireless here at home. He can connect at Starbucks with no problem, and I can connect at home on my computer with no problem.

    He called tech support, and they couldn't help him. We are very puzzled! Any help much appreciated!!
     
  2. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    You might list what operating system he is using. I'd start by unplugging your rounter and or modem for a few seconds and then plug them back in.

    Do you have security set up on the router? If so, he should check and make sure the code is still present. Also try typing in the code afresh.

    If noone has a better idea I'd delete the connection (home) on his computer and set it up again fresh.
     
  3. ccrobinson

    ccrobinson
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gwen, has he always been able to connect to your home wireless? If so, when did it stop? Has he made any changes to his laptop?
     
  4. Gwen

    Gwen
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,107
    Likes Received:
    5
    We've already tried unplugging the router. Didn't help.
    He has a Mac, so I'm not sure about the operating system.

    He was able to connect to wireless at home til about 2 weeks ago. Nothing has changed in that time. I can still get on the same way, with no problems.

    I think we'll try deleting the home connection, and setting it up again.

    Thanks, I'll let you know it that works.
     
  5. Magnetic Poles

    Magnetic Poles
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wifi really just isn't ready for prime time.
     
  6. Dale-c

    Dale-c
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi Gwen, I willl try to help.
    I am actually certified by Apple so let's see of that is worth any more than the paper it is written on :)

    To help you out, could you perhaps go to his laptop, hit the apple menu in the upper left of the screen and select "about this Mac"
    that will give you the Mac OS version etc.

    Are you connecting your other computer via wireless or a wired conection?

    We need to make sure the wireless router has not failed.

    When he clicks on the airport menu in the munu bar can he see your network listed?

    I am sure I can help you troubleshoot this but I will just have to get some info,

    Also, tell me is the name of your network? I have probllems with mine the other day and I found out that my laptop didn't like spaces in the network name (AKA SSID)
     
  7. Dale-c

    Dale-c
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    you are joking, right?

    I have been using Wifi for several years now with very seldom problems.
     
  8. Gwen

    Gwen
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,107
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey, thanks so much for your help.

    Version: Mac OS X 10.4.8

    The other computer is connected through wireless.

    I can see the network listed, and it shows that I have a full connection, but it will not connect and open any web pages.

    Our network is AT&T (formerly Bellsouth).
     
    #8 Gwen, Feb 29, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 29, 2008
  9. Dale-c

    Dale-c
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, you habe tiger and there is a newer version you can update to but it shouldn't make a difference with airport.

    One thing to try:
    Open your applications folder
    Then the Utilities folder and then you will see a program called disk utility.
    Open that and you should see your hard drive and any other disks listed and then just select your main system hard drive, it should be called "Macintosh HD" by default.
    Then hit repiar permissions.

    Then reboot the system and see if that helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...