Word Press software upgrade problems

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Revmitchell, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,303
    Likes Received:
    784
    Anyone familiar with wordpress software. I upgraded and the whole site is down. Not sure what happened.

    www.pastormarkmitchell.org
     
  2. David Michael Harris

    David Michael Harris
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you use the auto upgrade, it messes up at times.

    I can fix it if you have serious problems. As long as you made a database backup before you tried upgrading there WILL not be a problem.

    Only other areas will be if you modified the templates etc. I always quake a bit with WP when I upgrade.
     
  3. David Michael Harris

    David Michael Harris
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's your domain I guess, if you have ftp access download the whole root directory for starters. Everything. Then it's just a matter of uploading the new WP files and running the installation program. Can never backup enough.
     
  4. matt wade

    matt wade
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    76
    Your site is throwing a HTTP 500 error, which can mean a multitude of things. Do you have access to the HTTP error logs? If so, some useful information will be in there.

    If you don't see anything useful in the HTTP error logs, the first thing i would do is rename the entire plugin directory (wp-content/plugins). Many times when you do an upgrade of wordpress, one plugin or another is not compatible with the newer version. If you rename the directory and things work, then you can name it back to the original name, and rename each plugin one by one until you find the problem plugin.

    If all else fails and you need someone to take a look at it, let me know and I'll log in and check things out (of course I'd need the appropriate access). FYI, I run a web hosting company, so deal with these sort of issues pretty frequently.
     
  5. David Michael Harris

    David Michael Harris
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just sorting it now. It's why you have the error. Just uploading the new 2.9 files.
     
  6. David Michael Harris

    David Michael Harris
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    1
    Should be ok now, browser side.
     
  7. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,303
    Likes Received:
    784
    I got in admin thanks for the help David. Matt I appreciate your looking in.

    Issue resolved.
     

Share This Page

Loading...