XP Requires password for logon

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Frogman, Mar 21, 2006.

  1. Frogman

    Frogman
    Expand Collapse
    <img src="http://www.churches.net/churches/fubc/Fr
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    5,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having trouble with my computer. I have an emachines with Windows XP.

    When a user is on, there are three of us, myself, wife and son, Wife rarely uses though, but attempts to switch user, or the comp. goes into standby for inactivity reasons, it prompts for a password.

    I have been to user accounts, control board settings.

    We have just moved and did a restore on our computer, not a restore point, but a complete restore from disk. Since doing this, I have to restart each time I want to change between users.

    Any suggestions?

    email me at:

    [email protected]

    you may post here, but it may be a day or two before I am able to see it.

    Thanks,
    Bro. Dallas :confused:
     
  2. standingfirminChrist

    standingfirminChrist
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are able to sign on at all under any account, you can do a search for files that end with .pwl

    These are your passwords and if you delete them, it will prompt you when booting to enter new passwords.
     
  3. Frogman

    Frogman
    Expand Collapse
    <img src="http://www.churches.net/churches/fubc/Fr
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    5,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean that I have deleted these unknowingly? Or that I need to search for them and delete them when finding them?

    Dallas
     
  4. standingfirminChrist

    standingfirminChrist
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    search for them and delete them. then, when you go to start button and log off, you should be prompted for new passwords.
     
  5. Frogman

    Frogman
    Expand Collapse
    <img src="http://www.churches.net/churches/fubc/Fr
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    5,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just learned that it always resets itself to prompt for password when computer resumes from standby.

    I just 'unchecked' that box. But I have done it before with no success also.

    Why would it be resetting this?

    Dallas
     
  6. standingfirminChrist

    standingfirminChrist
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would also go to your control panel and the users icon. make sure wife and son are listed there as accounts.
     
  7. standingfirminChrist

    standingfirminChrist
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should not reset. when you uncheck, it should bypass password logon
     
  8. Frogman

    Frogman
    Expand Collapse
    <img src="http://www.churches.net/churches/fubc/Fr
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    5,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Both are listed.

    I just checked the performance & maintenance for to see if it had reset to prompt for a password.

    On my account, it is not.

    All three users on here are listed as admins. so I am going to check the other two accounts.

    Thanks for your help.

    Bro. Dallas
     
  9. SpiritualMadMan

    SpiritualMadMan
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are actually two places for the Password prompting...

    One is on return from Screen Saver...

    There other is on Initial Log-In...

    One note...

    Always set an Administrator Password... This is a major back door security issue... Without an Admin Password if you get hacked they have full access...

    This includes all Log-Ins with either Power User or Admininstror Rights...

    Requiring Log-In from Screen Saver is a matter of personal taste...

    If others can get to the computer when you turn your back then forcing a log-in on return from Screen Saver is a good idea.

    Mike Sr.
     
  10. ccrobinson

    ccrobinson
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are 2 more things I would do.

    Rename the Administrator and Guest accounts.
    Disable the Guest account.
     
  11. Daisy

    Daisy
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe this will help:

    Go to Settings, Control Panel, User Accounts.

    Under Pick a Task, choose the last one, Change the way users log on or off. Check the second one, "Use Fast User Switching".

    On the computer I share with my husband, we use that setting. It actually doesn't seem to require a password at all. I'll have to change that before the nephews visit again (they like to install things and change settings).
     
  12. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a link to a site that offers afree bootable program (goes on a floppy) that will get your passwords.
    http://www.loginrecovery.com/

    Hope this helps you out.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     

Share This Page

Loading...