1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

BJU and What they Teach vs. What they Do

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Harvey, Mar 13, 2005.

1. Harvey

Harvey New Member

I have been reading with interest the various comments about Bob Jones University and their past and how they have "spinned" the present.

I was a student of the Univesity in the 80's and so I heard the "Biblical" based teaching of the interacial dating ban.

I also worked at the University for many years and I worked with an individual who was of another race and his wife was white. I know of his stuggles and how at different times during his school year he was told he could date one race and than because of the appearance of his race, he was forbidden to date that same race a semester later. It would go back and forth.

My problem with the University is not that they change their minds or policies. We all are human and we all grow and learn from our failures and experiences.

I know much of what the school does is political and is done with more than one motivation. They are always very concerned about their "Show Window Appearance."

As I started to say, my problem is, they Never seem to admit they were wrong. I've been there. I have heard things, and seen things first hand you wouldn't believe. But I never heard those wonderful words from Dr. Bob III, I was wrong or I am sorry.

They always "spin" things or change things behind the scenes so as not to draw attention any more than they have to over a policy change.

The accrediation issue is a perfect example. I have Dr. Bob's own article called "The Accrediation Trap" wherewith he finds fault both in the secular and Christian community type of accrediation.