1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Churches -- Emerging & PoMo & Seeker

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by Pastor Larry, Jun 10, 2004.

1. Pastor Larry

Pastor Larry <b>Moderator</b>
    Site Supporter

What is the essential difference between these types of churches? My understanding is is that emergent and post modern churches are closely related, both in opposition to seeker churches.

Can anyone with actual knowledge comment here?

2. Marcia

Marcia Active Member

I hope others who might know more will add their comments because I am not an expert. But I've been reading The Emerging Church by Dan Kimball and have followed several discussions on this.

The aim is to reach the pomo generation, and the pomo generation does not like the loud, big, rock-music, praise song seeker churches or their power points. The pomo generation likes the sacred and the quiet and the experiential. They like stories. So pomo churches do what they call "vintage" services where the sanctuary (or wherever they are) is darkened, there might be candles, maybe incense, and sometimes the music is in the back, not the front.

Communion might be done by having a table to the side with the wafer/juice/wine and people go take it when they want. Stories are told throughout the service, some Bible passages read, but the sermon or message is usually not the focus.

Emerging churches do not do all the same thing, but the above is what is being done in many of them.

I see both the good and bad in this. The good is that they are trying to reach the pomo young people and I think it's fine to have a darkened worship place. I have no problems with the dark or the candles.