1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Depression?

Discussion in 'Other Discussions' started by Reformed, Sep 20, 2018.

1. Reformed

Reformed Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I am not a medical professional, nor do I play one on television. I also have not stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night, so I am out of my element when discussing this topic.

I have a business contact that has become a friend. I see him two or three times a month. By all outward indicators, he looks like a well-adjusted guy. He makes a great income, drives a class of car better than I can afford, and lives in a toney part of a nearby major city. He divorced some years ago, but he has a good relationship with his grown children. I met him for lunch today and he just did not look good. He has dark bags under his eyes and his demeanor is of someone who has not slept for days. I did not ignore the obvious, so I asked him what has been going on. He told me that for the past few months when he is not working he is sleeping. All he wants to do is go to bed. For all the time he is spending in bed, he is constantly tired. He did go and see his doctor, and after a panel of tests, he was told that he has no physical problems. His doctor told him that he is probably suffering from depression. He refuses to see a psychologist or a psychiatrist. He is deathly afraid of being put on medication. I am trying to support him as best as I can, but I am out of my league with this.

What would you do in a situation like this?

2. Earth Wind and Fire

Earth Wind and Fire Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Is he a Christian?

3. Reynolds

Reynolds Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist