1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Education Considerations

Discussion in 'Other Discussions' started by EliTaft, Jul 5, 2017.

1. EliTaft

EliTaft New Member

Faith:
    Non Baptist Christian
    I'm curious if any of you would have feedback / suggestions on what I'm considering.

I have a wife and four kids. I'm currently working as a computer programmer. I'm also a Bible teacher of a house church. I've been considering slowly making the transition from computer programming to instructing the college / university / seminary level. This would mean going back to school, but I'm not really sure the best course to take. I'm just kind of looking for a place to brainstorm a little bit and get some feedback on what I'm thinking through.

1. My real passion is theology, so I'm considering pursuing a doctorate-level theology degree. However, my time is limited and I'm really only interested in online education. I believe this rules out ATS accreditation, which is what most seminaries are interested in (so I've heard). So it sounds like the only option for me is to pursue this kind of degree from an online school whose accreditation might limit my options for teaching (at least as a full-time professor at an ATS Seminary).