1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Featured Eureka! An Attempt at Understanding the End Times Prophecies

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by Steven Yeadon, Oct 6, 2020.

1. Steven Yeadon

Steven Yeadon Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I am a longtime student of history. I have wracked my brain periodically for four years, since becoming a Christian, to understand the End Times prophecies of the bible. I was streaming a sermon on Sunday when I was taught an interesting factoid. To have an understanding of Revelation it is best to use imagery from the Old Testament since the prophecy was written to those familiar with the orally given Old Testament. Another trick is to identify one thing you do get in Revelation's imagery and extrapolate logically what other things are. This was then applied with the Woman, Child, and the Dragon in Revelation 12. It was very eye opening and I immediately felt convicted to read the End Times prophecies again. I spent much of Sunday night and today doing so.

Between the relevant verses in Revelation 13 and 17 that speak of the Harlot Mystery Babylon the Great I believe I have finally made sense of things. I will first try to unpack my understanding of the Harlot and I ask for input to refine my theology. From this conclusion I am trying to understand the other symbols.

First, I must say that the Beast out of the Sea is a kingdom according to Daniel 7:23. Verse 24 tells us the horns of this beast are kings. This is important, since the Beast is therefore not a single person but a corporate community led by kings.

OK now to deciphering the Harlot, Mystery Babylon the Great of Revelation.