1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

How do Calvinists interpret John 3:16

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by Amy.G, Dec 27, 2006.

1. Amy.G

Amy.G New Member

I am just beginning to learn about Calvinism so forgive my ignorance. :) If God has already chosen those who will be saved, what does John 3:16 mean? Why did our Lord say: For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.
    Also, if we back up to verse 14: And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of Man be lifted up, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life.
    Numbers 21:9 So Moses made a bronze serpent, and put it on a pole; and so it was, if a serpent had bitten anyone, when he looked at the bronze serpent, he lived.
    I would like an interpretation of these scriptures from a Calvinist's perspective.
    Thanks!:1_grouphug:

2. reformedbeliever

reformedbeliever New Member