1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Is man judged for his fallenness or for his rejection of the word?

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by Skandelon, Jul 1, 2004.

1. Skandelon

Skandelon <b>Moderator</b>

Calvinists are always arguing that we all deserve death and hell because of the fall and our inherited sin nature and therefore we have no right to even question their soteriological claims that God would condemn men who never were given the ability to respond in faith to God's solution, the powerful gospel message.

But I have a question that I'm still studying through myself...

Are men judged based because of their fallenness or are they judged for their response to the word?

Jesus said, "He who rejects Me, and does not receive My words, has that which judges him--the word that I have spoken will judge him in the last day." (John 12:48)

It appears to me from this passage that men are condemned at judgement not for their inherited sin nature, but instead for their response to Christ's words.

Thoughts?

2. psr.2

psr.2 Guest

John 3:18-19
    18 He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.
    19 And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.

Never heard?
    Romans 1:
    18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness;
    19 Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath showed it unto them.