1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Is There Any Hope For America?

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by I Am Blessed 24, Sep 6, 2003.

1. I Am Blessed 24

I Am Blessed 24 Active Member

In 1952, while I was a young pastoral student at Baptist Bible College in Springfield, Mo., Dr. G.B. Vick asked the students, "What do you hope to
    accomplish with your life?"

The question has preoccupied my thoughts for more than five decades.

About 40 years ago, God spoke to my heart about saving America. At that time, our U.S. Supreme Court - in 1962 and 1963 - had thrown prayer and
    Bible reading out of our public schools. Ten years later (1973), Roe vs. Wade declared open game on our unborn. Today, we have nearly 45 million dead unborn babies as a result of this decision.

And now, America - a nation under God for 200 years - is about to completely abandon the God of our founding. In recent days, our federal courts have legalized sodomy and declared illegal the Ten Commandments.

In the past year, the Boy Scouts have been bitterly disparaged because they uphold time-honored moral traditions, we have seen our Pledge of Allegiance declared unconstitutional, and we have witnessed a major denomination promote a homosexual priest to bishop. (This man, in fact, should have been defrocked when he abandoned his wife and daughters, choosing to shack up
    with his male lover.)

Patrick Buchanan noted, "In the West, the God of Christianity has been superseded by the gods of modernity: money, sex, fame, power. These gods
    give a good life, but they cannot sustain life. As Christianity is a dying faith in every Western nation, every Western nation is dying."