1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Major Change of Ministry

Discussion in 'Pastoral Ministries' started by Dr. Bob, Dec 17, 2003.

1. Dr. Bob

Dr. Bob Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    Since Dec 1970 I have been a pastor (mostly full time, some missionary work) or college prof.

Now, with health challenges greatly curtailing my ministry, I am fussing and fighting about the "next step". I have to be careful about every decision I make (to speak, travel, etc).

Lots of big changes ahead. But the bride shared Oswald Chambers words, "Don’t mourn for what you once were if God has called you to be something you’ve never been."

Looking ahead and ultimately, looking UP!

Any other preachers/pastors facing some big challenges these days?

2. USN2Pulpit

USN2Pulpit New Member

Well, as you know Dr Bob, I'm on the other end of the situation...just starting out in the ministry, and have already seen several challenges...

1) Preaching not just every once in awhile for specials or supply, but every Sunday - twice, Bible studies and visitation on Thursday, Wednesday night prayer meeting.

2) Business meetings were easy when I was just a member, but now...

3) Rounding up those "lost sheep" who have been absent during the time my church was without a pastor

4) Funerals - I hadn't counted on how much a toll they would take personally, because I experience the loss as I grow to love my congregation.

Dr Bob, any revelations as to what the upcoming challenge for your life might be?

3. gb93433

gb93433 Active Member
    Site Supporter

Such timely words for me as well. Thanks!