1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Questions regarding becoming a member of a church

Discussion in 'Pastoral Ministries' started by SmalltownPastor, Nov 9, 2012.

1. SmalltownPastor

I'm a relatively new pastor of a smalltown SBC church. I thought I was familiar with how people become members (baptism, statement, letter), but I'm realizing the lines aren't quite as defined as I'd like them to be. Rarely do situations neatly fall into the boxes that I imagined. Take these three cases.

1) Someone came forward to join by baptism. But in counseling with her after the service, I find out that she had already been baptized (because she had "accepted Christ" years earlier, but she was now ready to really commit to Him. I explain that we need only get baptized once. So she joined by statement of faith (she was not a member of a church anywhere...). She has rarely attended since then, even though we regularly check on her and seek to include her.

2) Someone came forward to join by transfer of letter. I find out that she's a member of the ABC church in town. I didn't realize that SBC and ABC churches exchanged letters before that day, but apparently they do, because without even requesting the letter, the ABC church sent us one for her. Is this normal?