1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Rev. 5:9,10 Greek Help please...

Discussion in '2000-02 Archive' started by Joey M, Oct 13, 2001.

1. Joey M

Joey M New Member

I am studying Matt. 24 which I believe coinsides with Rev.6 in the end times. Now I have always been under the assumtion taht we get raptured or caught up before the tribulation. Part of my basis for this was that I believed that we (the church) were the 24 elders in Rev. 4 and in Rev. 5:9,10.
    And therefore believed that we were gone before the opening of any of the seals. Well in reading some of the newer translations in Rev. 5:9,10 it shows the 24 elders singing the new song. But rather than saying He has redeemed us to God, it says purchased for God men from every tribe...
    and in verse 10 kjv "and hast made us ... and we shall reign. The other versions say "you have made them ...and they will reign.
    Ok I have only four diffent copies of transcripts, which without the help of the computer I would know nothing about. These are: Biblia Sacra Vulgata, Byzantine/Majority Textform Greek New Testament, Nestle Aland 26th Editon, and Stephen's Textus Receptus 1550 and 1881 editions. All of them seem to imply with the Greek word "hmas" (I can't seem to get the Greek text to cut and paste on here, but those letters are the letters I had to use to get the Greek symbols to show up correctly.) I guess it would be the Greek word "hemas" for us or we. All of them contain this except the Nestle Aland. Is there other transcripts that do not contain this and where could I find them.
    And another thing, if the originals did not contain this word, then 1) who are the 24 elders